id stringlengths 5 5 | category stringclasses 6
values | question stringlengths 29 249 | answer stringlengths 4 710 | source_company stringclasses 8
values | source_year unknown | source_snippet stringlengths 19 724 ⌀ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
q_001 | factual | What is the address of Apple's principal executive offices? | One Apple Park Way, Cupertino, California 95014 | apple | 2023 | One Apple Park Way, Cupertino, California 95014 |
q_002 | numerical | How much long-term debt did Tesla report at the end of fiscal 2023? | $4.68 billion in aggregate principal amount of indebtedness | tesla | 2023 | As of December 31, 2023, we and our subsidiaries had outstanding $4.68 billion in aggregate principal amount of indebtedness |
q_003 | multi_hop | How did Tesla's total indebtedness change between fiscal 2023 and 2024? | Answer requires comparing Tesla's 2023 and 2024 10-K debt disclosures. Fill in from source snippets during validation. | tesla | "multiple" | [2023]: As of December 31, 2023, we and our subsidiaries had outstanding $4.68 billion... [2024]: [look up during validation] |
q_004 | negation | What does Tesla say it does NOT typically maintain regarding insurance coverage? | Tesla states it does not maintain as much insurance coverage as many other companies do, and in some cases does not maintain any at all. | tesla | 2023 | As a general matter, we do not maintain as much insurance coverage as many other companies do, and in some cases, we do not maintain any at all. |
q_005 | unanswerable | What was Apple CEO Tim Cook's total compensation in fiscal year 2024? | I don't have enough information in the provided context to answer this question. Executive compensation is disclosed in the proxy statement (DEF 14A), not the 10-K. | null | null | null |
q_006 | numerical | What is the aggregate market value of voting stock held by non-affiliates of the registrant, as of June 30, 2023? | $722.52 billion | tesla | 2023 | The aggregate market value of voting stock held by non-affiliates of the registrant, as of June 30, 2023, the last business day of the registrant's most recently completed second fiscal quarter, was $722.52 billion |
q_007 | factual | What are Tesla's two reportable segments? | Automotive, and energy generation and storage. | tesla | 2023 | We operate as two reportable segments: (i) automotive and (ii) energy generation and storage. |
q_008 | numerical | In how many U.S. states did Tesla offer insurance products as of fiscal 2023? | 12 states | tesla | 2023 | Our insurance products are currently available in 12 states and we plan to expand the markets in which we offer insurance products, as part of our ongoing effort to decrease the total cost of ownership for our customers. |
q_009 | numerical | What was Tesla's gross profit for fiscal year 2023? | $17,660 million (approximately $17.66 billion) | tesla | 2023 | Gross profit
17,660 |
q_010 | numerical | What was Tesla's automotive sales revenue for fiscal year 2022? | $67,210 million (approximately $67.21 billion) | tesla | 2023 | Automotive sales
$
78,509
$
67,210
$
44,125 |
q_011 | negation | Are Tesla's convertible note hedges considered dilutive when calculating potentially dilutive shares? | No. Tesla's convertible note hedges are not included when calculating potentially dilutive shares because their effect is always anti-dilutive. | tesla | 2023 | However, our convertible note hedges are not included when calculating potentially dilutive shares since their effect is always anti-dilutive. |
q_012 | numerical | How much did Tesla record in impairment losses on digital assets for the year ended December 31, 2022? | $204 million in impairment losses on digital assets | tesla | 2023 | During the year ended December 31, 2022, we recorded $
204
million of impairment losses on digital assets and realized gains of $
64
million in connection with converting our holdings of digital assets into fiat currency. |
q_013 | factual | On which Tesla facility has Panasonic partnered to manufacture and supply battery cells? | Gigafactory Nevada | tesla | 2023 | Panasonic has partnered with us on Gigafactory Nevada with investments in the production equipment that it uses to manufacture and supply us with battery cells. |
q_014 | unanswerable | How many employees did Elon Musk personally hire at Tesla in 2023? | I don't have enough information in the provided context to answer this question. Tesla's 10-K reports total employee counts and workforce changes but does not break down hires by who personally hired them. | null | null | null |
q_015 | unanswerable | What is the mileage range per charge of the Tesla Semi truck? | I don't have enough information in the provided context to answer this question. Tesla's 10-K describes vehicle categories at a high level but does not typically disclose per-model performance specifications like range or mileage. | null | null | null |
q_016 | negation | Does Tesla present short-term leases on its consolidated balance sheet? | No. Tesla has elected not to present short-term leases (those with a lease term of 12 months or less at inception and no purchase or renewal options reasonably certain to be exercised) on its consolidated balance sheet. | tesla | 2023 | We have elected not to present short-term leases on the consolidated balance sheet as these leases have a lease term of 12 months or less at lease inception and do not contain purchase options or renewal terms that we are reasonably certain to exercise |
q_017 | multi_hop | What proportion of Tesla's expected future minimum master lease payments from investors is scheduled to arrive after 2028, as of December 31, 2023? | Approximately 72% ($337 million out of a total of $468 million) is scheduled to arrive after 2028, with the remaining $131 million spread across the years 2024 through 2028. | tesla | 2023 | As of December 31, 2023, the future minimum master lease payments to be received from investors, for each of the next five years and thereafter, were as follows (in millions): 2024 $ 18 2025 27 2026 28 2027 29 2028 29 Thereafter 337 Total $ 468 |
q_018 | multi_hop | For a tranche of Tesla's 2018 CEO Performance Award to vest, what two categories of milestones must both be achieved, and how long must the CEO hold the shares after exercising? | Both a market capitalization milestone (starting at $100 billion for the first tranche and increasing by $50 billion increments) AND an operational milestone (one of eight based on total revenue or one of eight based on Adjusted EBITDA, measured over four consecutive fiscal quarters on an annualized basis) must be achi... | tesla | 2023 | Each of the 12 vesting tranches of the 2018 CEO Performance Award vested upon certification by the Board of Directors that both (i) the market capitalization milestone for such tranche, which began at $100.0 billion for the first tranche and increases by increments of $50.0 billion thereafter... and (ii) any one of the... |
q_019 | multi_hop | As of December 31, 2023, what was Tesla's unrecognized stock-based compensation expense under its Other Performance-Based Grants, and how much stock-based compensation expense did Tesla actually recognize under those grants during fiscal 2023? | Tesla had $655 million of unrecognized stock-based compensation expense under its Other Performance-Based Grants as of December 31, 2023, covering grants for an aggregate of 5.3 million shares. During fiscal 2023, Tesla recorded $57 million of stock-based compensation expense under these grants, net of forfeitures. | tesla | 2023 | As of December 31, 2023, we had unrecognized stock-based compensation expense of $655 million under these grants to purchase or receive an aggregate 5.3 million shares of our common stock... For the years ended December 31, 2023 and 2022, we recorded $57 million and $159 million, respectively, of stock-based compensati... |
q_020 | factual | What did Tesla introduce in November 2022 that enables electric vehicles and charging stations to interoperate? | Tesla opened up its previously proprietary charging connector as the North American Charging Standard (NACS), which enables electric vehicles and charging stations to interoperate. | tesla | 2024 | in November 2022, we opened up our previously proprietary charging connector as the North American Charging Standard (NACS). This enables electric vehicles and charging stations to interoperate |
q_021 | factual | In what year did Tesla launch its insurance product using real-time driving behavior? | 2021 | tesla | 2024 | In 2021, we launched our insurance product using real-time driving behavior in select states, which offers rates that are often better than other alternatives and promotes safer driving. |
q_022 | numerical | How much can qualifying Tesla customers receive in U.S. federal tax credits for the purchase of qualified electric vehicles, under current legislation? | Up to $7,500 in federal tax credits, available through 2032 for qualifying purchases. | tesla | 2024 | under current legislation, qualifying Tesla customers may receive up to $7,500 in federal tax credits for the purchase of qualified electric vehicles in the U.S. through 2032. |
q_023 | factual | What type of cells does Tesla use in the high voltage battery packs for its vehicles and energy storage products? | Lithium-ion cells. | tesla | 2024 | We use lithium-ion cells in our high voltage battery packs in our vehicles and energy storage products. |
q_024 | multi_hop | What are the target audiences and objectives of Tesla's Military Fellowship Program and Manufacturing Development Program? | The Military Fellowship Program, run in partnership with the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Foundation's Hire Our Heroes, offers exiting military service members corporate industry experience during their transition out of service, aiming to convert high-performing individuals into full-time roles and build a veteran talent ... | tesla | 2024 | Military Fellowship Program – Tesla's Fellowship program, in partnership with the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Foundation's Hire Our Heroes, offers exiting military service members corporate industry experience during their transition in service... Manufacturing Development Program – Tesla's global manufacturing pathway pr... |
q_025 | factual | According to Tesla's 2024 10-K, what factors could negatively affect the market for its electric vehicles? | Tesla identifies several factors: perceptions about EV features, quality, safety, performance, and cost; perceptions about limited driving range on a single charge and access to charging facilities; competition from other alternative fuel vehicles, plug-in hybrids, and high fuel-economy internal combustion engine vehic... | tesla | 2024 | the market for our vehicles could be negatively affected by numerous factors, such as: perceptions about electric vehicle features, quality, safety, performance and cost; perceptions about the limited range over which electric vehicles may be driven on a single battery charge, and access to charging facilities; competi... |
q_026 | factual | Where are Tesla's primary manufacturing facilities located, and which are owned versus leased? | Tesla's primary manufacturing facilities are: Gigafactory Texas (Austin, Texas; owned), Fremont Factory (Fremont, California; owned), Gigafactory Nevada (Sparks, Nevada; owned), Gigafactory Berlin-Brandenburg (Grunheide, Germany; owned), Gigafactory Shanghai (Shanghai, China; marked with a footnote reference), Megafact... | tesla | 2024 | Primary Manufacturing Facilities Location Owned or Leased Gigafactory Texas Austin, Texas Owned Fremont Factory Fremont, California Owned Gigafactory Nevada Sparks, Nevada Owned Gigafactory Berlin-Brandenburg Grunheide, Germany Owned Gigafactory Shanghai Shanghai, China * Megafactory Shanghai Shanghai, China * Gigafact... |
q_027 | unanswerable | How many rockets did SpaceX launch in 2024? | I don't have enough information in the provided context to answer this question. SpaceX is a separate private company from Tesla, and Tesla's 10-K does not disclose SpaceX's operational data. | null | null | null |
q_028 | unanswerable | How many hours of leave are Tesla employees allowed per year? | I don't have enough information in the provided context to answer this question. Tesla's 10-K describes workforce and benefits at a high level but does not disclose specific leave policies such as annual leave hour allowances; that level of detail is typically found in an employee handbook or benefits summary, not in S... | null | null | null |
q_029 | negation | Does Tesla provide its own warranty on components it does NOT manufacture itself? | No. For components not manufactured by Tesla, Tesla generally passes through the applicable manufacturers' warranties rather than providing its own. | tesla | 2024 | For components not manufactured by us, we generally pass-through the applicable manufacturers' warranties. |
q_030 | negation | According to Tesla's 2024 10-K, can the world reduce carbon emissions by addressing only energy generation or only energy consumption? | No. Tesla states that the world cannot reduce carbon emissions without addressing both energy generation and consumption, which is why Tesla is building a complete energy and transportation ecosystem rather than focusing on just one side. | tesla | 2024 | We believe the world cannot reduce carbon emissions without addressing both energy generation and consumption, and we are designing and manufacturing a complete energy and transportation ecosystem to achieve this goal. |
q_031 | comparison | How did Tesla's automotive sales revenue change from 2023 to 2024? | Tesla's automotive sales revenue decreased from $78,509 million in 2023 to $72,480 million in 2024, a decline of $6,029 million (an 8% decrease year over year). | tesla | "multiple" | Automotive sales $ 72,480 $ 78,509 $ 67,210 $ (6,029) (8) % |
q_032 | factual | What social media channels does Nvidia use for disclosing company information under Regulation FD? | Nvidia uses five social media channels for disclosures under Regulation FD: X (Twitter) at twitter.com/nvidia, the Nvidia Corporate Blog at blogs.nvidia.com, Facebook at facebook.com/nvidia, LinkedIn at linkedin.com/company/nvidia, and Instagram at instagram.com/nvidia. | nvidia | 2024 | We also use the following social media channels... NVIDIA X Account (https://twitter.com/nvidia) NVIDIA Corporate Blog (http://blogs.nvidia.com) NVIDIA Facebook Page (https://www.facebook.com/nvidia) NVIDIA LinkedIn Page (http://www.linkedin.com/company/nvidia) NVIDIA Instagram Page (https://www.instagram.com/nvidia) |
q_033 | factual | What is the name of Nvidia's first data center CPU, and when was it introduced? | Grace, introduced in 2023 and built for giant-scale AI and high-performance computing. | nvidia | 2024 | In 2023, we introduced our first data center CPU, Grace, built for giant-scale AI and high-performance computing. |
q_034 | factual | Where is Nvidia headquartered, and in which state was it originally incorporated? | Nvidia is headquartered in Santa Clara, California. It was originally incorporated in California in April 1993 and later reincorporated in Delaware in April 1998. | nvidia | 2024 | Headquartered in Santa Clara, California, NVIDIA was incorporated in California in April 1993 and reincorporated in Delaware in April 1998. |
q_035 | factual | What product categories are included in Nvidia's Graphics segment? | Nvidia's Graphics segment includes: GeForce GPUs for gaming and PCs; the GeForce NOW game streaming service and related infrastructure; Quadro/NVIDIA RTX GPUs for enterprise workstation graphics; virtual GPU (vGPU) software for cloud-based visual and virtual computing; automotive platforms for infotainment systems; and... | nvidia | 2024 | The Graphics segment includes GeForce GPUs for gaming and PCs, the GeForce NOW game streaming service and related infrastructure; Quadro/NVIDIA RTX GPUs for enterprise workstation graphics; virtual GPU, or vGPU, software for cloud-based visual and virtual computing; automotive platforms for infotainment systems; and Om... |
q_036 | unanswerable | Does Nvidia sell hair dryers? | I don't have enough information in the provided context to answer this question. Nvidia's 10-K describes its product portfolio in GPUs, data center compute, networking, and automotive platforms; it does not mention consumer appliances such as hair dryers. | null | null | null |
q_037 | unanswerable | What was the single most important growth factor for Nvidia, and when did Nvidia start selling chips? | I don't have enough information in the provided context to answer this question. Nvidia's 10-K describes multiple growth drivers but does not identify any single factor as the 'most important.' Additionally, the exact date Nvidia began selling chips is not disclosed in the filing. | null | null | null |
q_038 | factual | Which independent subcontractors and contract manufacturers does Nvidia engage with for assembly, testing, and packaging of its final products? | Nvidia engages with Hon Hai Precision Industry Co., Ltd., Wistron Corporation, and Fabrinet for assembly, testing, and packaging of its final products. | nvidia | 2024 | We engage with independent subcontractors and contract manufacturers such as Hon Hai Precision Industry Co., Ltd., Wistron Corporation, and Fabrinet to perform assembly, testing and packaging of our final products. |
q_039 | multi_hop | Which of Nvidia's competitors are specifically identified as competing in both the GPU/accelerated computing space AND the networking products space? | AMD, Huawei, and Intel are identified as competitors in both the GPU/accelerated computing space and the networking products space (switches, DPUs, cable solutions). | nvidia | 2024 | Our current competitors include: suppliers and licensors of hardware and software for discrete and integrated GPUs... AMD, Huawei... and Intel... and networking products consisting of switches, network adapters (including DPUs), and cable solutions... AMD, Arista Networks, Broadcom, Cisco Systems... Hewlett Packard Ent... |
q_040 | negation | Does Nvidia consider its website and the information linked to it to be part of its Annual Report on Form 10-K? | No. Nvidia explicitly states that its website and the information on it or connected to it are not part of its Annual Report on Form 10-K. | nvidia | 2024 | Our web site and the information on it or connected to it are not a part of this Annual Report on Form 10-K. |
q_041 | negation | If Nvidia's revenue declines, does Nvidia have the ability to reduce its supply commitments at the same rate? | No. Nvidia states that it may not have the ability to reduce its supply commitments at the same rate as a revenue decline, or at all. | nvidia | 2024 | We may not have the ability to reduce our supply commitments at the same rate or at all if our revenue declines. |
q_042 | comparison | Over the five-year period ending January 28, 2024, how did the cumulative total shareholder return on $100 invested in Nvidia common stock compare to equivalent investments in the S&P 500 Index and the Nasdaq 100 Index? | Nvidia significantly outperformed both indices. A $100 investment on January 27, 2019 grew to $1,536.28 in Nvidia, versus $199.83 in the S&P 500 and $268.13 in the Nasdaq 100 by January 28, 2024. | nvidia | 2024 | 1/27/2019 1/26/2020 1/31/2021 1/30/2022 1/29/2023 1/28/2024 NVIDIA Corporation $ 100.00 $ 157.02 $ 326.26 $ 574.15 $ 512.40 $ 1,536.28 S&P 500 $ 100.00 $ 126.17 $ 144.83 $ 175.25 $ 163.63 $ 199.83 Nasdaq 100 $ 100.00 $ 136.15 $ 194.20 $ 218.68 $ 185.67 $ 268.13 |
q_043 | numerical | By what percentage did Nvidia's revenue grow between fiscal years 2023 and 2024, and what was the change in gross margin over the same period? | Nvidia's revenue grew by 126%, from $26,974 million in fiscal 2023 to $60,922 million in fiscal 2024. Gross margin increased by 15.8 percentage points, from 56.9% to 72.7% over the same period. | nvidia | 2024 | Jan 28, 2024 Jan 29, 2023 Change ($ in millions, except per share data) Revenue $ 60,922 $ 26,974 Up 126% Gross margin 72.7 % 56.9 % Up 15.8 pts |
q_044 | comparison | How did Nvidia's cost structure as a percentage of revenue change between fiscal year 2023 and fiscal year 2024? | As a percentage of revenue, cost of revenue decreased from 43.1% in fiscal 2023 to 27.3% in fiscal 2024, while gross profit margin rose from 56.9% to 72.7%. Research and development expenses fell from 27.2% to 14.2% of revenue, and sales, general and administrative expenses fell from 9.1% to 4.4%. | nvidia | "multiple" | Year Ended Jan 28, 2024 Jan 29, 2023 Revenue 100.0 % 100.0 % Cost of revenue 27.3 43.1 Gross profit 72.7 56.9 Operating expenses Research and development 14.2 27.2 Sales, general and administrative 4.4 9.1 |
q_045 | comparison | According to Nvidia's debt maturity schedule as of January 28, 2024, how does the amount of debt due within one year compare to the amount due in more than ten years? | Nvidia's debt due within one year was $1,250 million, while debt due in more than ten years was $3,500 million (2.8 times greater). Gross amounts: $1,250M in 1 year, $2,250M in 1-5 years, $2,750M in 5-10 years, $3,500M in >10 years. | nvidia | 2024 | Our aggregate debt maturities as of January 28, 2024, by year payable, are as follows: Due in one year $ 1,250 Due in one to five years 2,250 Due in five to ten years 2,750 Due in greater than ten years 3,500 |
q_046 | numerical | How much commercial paper did Nvidia have outstanding as of the end of fiscal year 2024, and what is the maximum size of Nvidia's commercial paper program? | Nvidia had zero commercial paper outstanding as of the end of fiscal year 2024. The company's commercial paper program has a maximum size of $575 million and is used to support general corporate purposes. | nvidia | 2024 | We have a $575 million commercial paper program to support general corporate purposes. As of the end of fiscal year 2024, we had no commercial paper outstanding. |
q_047 | multi_hop | How does Nvidia test goodwill for impairment, including when the test is performed, the type of analysis options available, and the specific factors considered in a quantitative analysis? | Nvidia performs an annual goodwill impairment test during the fourth quarter of its fiscal year, or earlier if indicators of potential impairment exist. The test is conducted on a reporting-unit basis and can be either qualitative or quantitative. Quantitative analysis uses both income and market approaches, factoring ... | nvidia | 2024 | Goodwill is subject to our annual impairment test during the fourth quarter of our fiscal year, or earlier if indicators of potential impairment exist. In completing our impairment test, we perform either a qualitative or a quantitative analysis on a reporting unit basis. |
q_048 | factual | Which demographic groups does Nvidia specifically identify in its 2023 10-K as historically underrepresented in the technology field and prioritize in recruiting, developing, and retaining talent? | Nvidia specifically identifies women, Black/African American, and Hispanic/Latino candidates as historically underrepresented in the technology field. | nvidia | 2023 | When recruiting for new talent or managing current talent, we focus on recruiting, developing, and retaining a more diverse workforce with a focus on those historically underrepresented in the technology field, including women, Black/African American, and Hispanic/Latino candidates. |
q_049 | multi_hop | How did Nvidia's workforce gender composition change between the end of fiscal year 2023 and the end of fiscal year 2024? | At the end of fiscal 2023, the workforce was 80% male, 19% female, 1% not declared. By the end of fiscal 2024, it was 79% male, 20% female, 1% not declared. The share of U.S. employees who are Black or African American and Hispanic or Latino remained at 6% in both years. | nvidia | "multiple" | [2023]: As of the end of fiscal year 2023, our global workforce was 80% male, 19% female, and 1% not declared... [2024]: As of the end of fiscal year 2024, our global workforce was 79% male, 20% female, and 1% not declared... |
q_050 | factual | Where was Jensen Huang employed before joining Nvidia, and in what roles? | Jensen Huang worked at LSI Logic Corporation from 1985 to 1993, including as Director of Coreware. Earlier, from 1983 to 1985, he worked at AMD as a microprocessor designer. | nvidia | 2023 | From 1985 to 1993, Mr. Huang was employed at LSI Logic Corporation... including as Director of Coreware... From 1983 to 1985, Mr. Huang was a microprocessor designer for AMD |
q_051 | comparison | How did sales to China as a percentage of Nvidia's Data Center revenue change from fiscal year 2023 to fiscal year 2024? | Sales to China decreased from 19% of total Data Center revenue in fiscal 2023 to 14% in fiscal 2024 (a drop of roughly 5 percentage points). | nvidia | 2024 | Our sales to China decreased as a percentage of total Data Center revenue from 19% in fiscal year 2023 to 14% in fiscal year 2024. |
q_052 | numerical | How many Nvidia employees are located in the Israel region, and what functions do they primarily support? | Approximately 3,700 Nvidia employees in the Israel region primarily support research and development, operations, and sales and marketing of Nvidia's networking products. | nvidia | 2024 | the health and safety of our approximately 3,700 employees in the region who primarily support the research and development, operations, and sales and marketing of our networking products. |
q_053 | negation | Does Nvidia currently make direct sales to Russia? | No. Nvidia stopped direct sales to Russia and closed its business operations in Russia during fiscal year 2023, in response to U.S. and other jurisdictions' sanctions following the war in Ukraine. | nvidia | 2024 | In fiscal year 2023, we stopped direct sales to Russia and closed business operations in Russia. |
q_054 | numerical | What was the aggregate market value of Apple's voting and non-voting stock held by non-affiliates as of March 29, 2024? | Approximately $2,628,553,000,000 (approximately $2.63 trillion). | apple | 2024 | The aggregate market value of the voting and non-voting stock held by non-affiliates of the Registrant, as of March 29, 2024... was approximately $2,628,553,000,000 |
q_055 | multi_hop | How did Nvidia's and Apple's fiscal 2024 total revenues compare, and which company reported higher revenue? | Apple reported higher total revenue in fiscal 2024 at $391,035 million (~$391 billion), compared with Nvidia's $60,922 million (~$60.9 billion). Apple's revenue was approximately 6.4 times larger. | multiple | 2024 | [Apple]: Total net sales $ 391,035 ... [Nvidia]: Revenue $ 60,922 |
q_056 | comparison | Among Apple's product and service categories, which one grew the most and which one declined the most in net sales from fiscal 2023 to fiscal 2024? | Services grew the most, increasing 13% from $85,200 million to $96,169 million. Wearables, Home and Accessories declined the most, falling 7% from $39,845 million to $37,005 million. iPhone was flat, Mac grew 2%, and iPad declined 6%. | apple | 2024 | iPhone $ 201,183 — % $ 200,583 Mac 29,984 2 % 29,357 iPad 26,694 (6) % 28,300 Wearables, Home and Accessories 37,005 (7) % 39,845 Services 96,169 13 % 85,200 |
q_057 | numerical | What amount did the European Commission order Ireland to recover from Apple under the 2016 State Aid Decision? | €13.1 billion in additional taxes, plus €1.2 billion in interest, covering the period from June 2003 through December 2014. | apple | 2023 | The recovery amount was calculated to be €13.1 billion, plus interest of €1.2 billion. |
q_058 | factual | What is Apple's 2022 Employee Stock Plan, what types of equity awards does it allow, and what is the typical RSU vesting schedule? | The Apple Inc. 2022 Employee Stock Plan is a shareholder-approved plan permitting RSUs, stock grants, performance-based awards, stock options, and stock appreciation rights. RSUs under the plan generally vest over four years. | apple | 2023 | The Apple Inc. 2022 Employee Stock Plan... permits the granting of RSUs, stock grants, performance-based awards, stock options and stock appreciation rights. RSUs granted under the 2022 Plan generally vest over four years |
q_059 | factual | Who are Apple's primary customers, and through what channels does Apple sell to them? | Apple's customers are primarily in the consumer, small and mid-sized business, education, enterprise, and government markets. Apple sells its products (and resells third-party products) in most of its major markets through retail stores, online stores, and direct sales force. | apple | 2023 | The Company's customers are primarily in the consumer, small and mid-sized business, education, enterprise and government markets. |
q_060 | negation | According to Apple's 2023 10-K, should investors rely on Apple's past financial performance or historical trends to anticipate future results? | No. Apple explicitly states that past financial performance should not be considered a reliable indicator of future performance, and investors should not use historical trends to anticipate results. | apple | 2023 | past financial performance should not be considered to be a reliable indicator of future performance, and investors should not use historical trends to anticipate results or trends in future periods. |
q_061 | comparison | According to Apple's 2023 10-K, how did the five-year cumulative total shareholder return on $100 invested in Apple common stock evolve from September 2018 to September 2023? | A $100 investment grew to $317 by September 2023 (217% total return). Year-by-year: $100, $98, $204, $269, $277, $317. | apple | 2023 | September 2018 September 2019 September 2020 September 2021 September 2022 September 2023 Apple Inc. $ 100 $ 98 $ 204 $ 269 $ 277 $ 317 |
q_062 | factual | Why did Apple's Americas net sales decrease in fiscal 2023 compared to fiscal 2022? | Americas net sales decreased 4%, or $7.1 billion, due to lower net sales of iPhone and Mac, partially offset by higher net sales of Services. | apple | 2023 | Americas net sales decreased 4% or $7.1 billion during 2023 compared to 2022 due to lower net sales of iPhone and Mac, partially offset by higher net sales of Services. |
q_063 | negation | Does Apple account for the sale of components to its manufacturing vendors as revenue in product net sales? | No. Apple does not reflect the sale of these components in products net sales. Instead, Apple recognizes any gain on these component sales as a reduction of products cost of sales when the related final products are sold. | apple | 2023 | The Company does not reflect the sale of these components in products net sales. Rather, the Company recognizes any gain on these sales as a reduction of products cost of sales when the related final products are sold by the Company. |
q_064 | factual | What are the three economies of scale that Microsoft's cloud business benefits from? | (1) Datacenters that deploy computational resources at significantly lower cost per unit than smaller ones; (2) datacenters that coordinate and aggregate diverse customer, geographic, and application demand patterns, improving utilization; and (3) multi-tenancy locations that lower application maintenance labor costs. | microsoft | 2024 | Our cloud business benefits from three economies of scale: datacenters that deploy computational resources at significantly lower cost per unit than smaller ones; datacenters that coordinate and aggregate diverse customer, geographic, and application demand patterns, improving the utilization of computing, storage, and... |
q_065 | factual | Which Microsoft product does Microsoft describe as being at the forefront of AI-powered software development? | GitHub Copilot. | microsoft | 2024 | GitHub Copilot is at the forefront of AI-powered software development, giving developers a tool to write code easier and faster. |
q_066 | factual | When did Activision Blizzard join Microsoft, and what is Activision Blizzard's business? | Activision Blizzard joined Microsoft in October 2023. It is a leader in game development and an interactive entertainment content publisher. | microsoft | 2024 | Activision Blizzard, Inc. ("Activision Blizzard"), a leader in game development and an interactive entertainment content publisher, joined Microsoft in October 2023. |
q_067 | numerical | Did Microsoft achieve its goal of training and certifying 10 million learners by 2025, and if so, what was the actual achievement as of May 2024? | Yes. Microsoft surpassed its goal ahead of schedule. As of May 2024, Microsoft had trained and certified 12.6 million learners (goal was 10 million by 2025). | microsoft | 2024 | Our goal was to train and certify 10 million learners by 2025. As of May 2024, we have surpassed that goal, training and certifying 12.6 million learners. |
q_068 | numerical | As of June 30, 2024, how many people did Microsoft employ full-time, how were they distributed between the U.S. and internationally, and what was the headcount breakdown by function? | 228,000 total: 126,000 U.S. and 102,000 international. By function: 86,000 operations, 81,000 R&D, 45,000 sales and marketing, 16,000 G&A. | microsoft | 2024 | As of June 30, 2024, we employed approximately 228,000 people on a full-time basis, 126,000 in the U.S. and 102,000 internationally. Of the total employed people, 86,000 were in operations... 81,000 were in product research and development; 45,000 were in sales and marketing; and 16,000 were in general and administrati... |
q_069 | factual | What factors does Microsoft identify as determining the growth of its Gaming business through Xbox-enabled content? | Five factors: (1) overall active user base through Xbox-enabled content; (2) availability of games; (3) exclusive game content; (4) computational power and reliability of devices; and (5) ability to create new experiences. | microsoft | 2024 | Growth of our Gaming business is determined by the overall active user base through Xbox enabled content, availability of games, providing exclusive game content that gamers seek, the computational power and reliability of the devices used to access our content and services, and the ability to create new experiences. |
q_070 | factual | Who serves as Microsoft's Chief Commercial Officer, and what is their age as reported in Microsoft's 2024 10-K? | Kathleen T. Hogan serves as Microsoft's Executive Vice President and Chief Commercial Officer. Her age as reported in the fiscal 2024 10-K is 58. | microsoft | 2024 | Executive Vice President and Chief Commercial Officer Kathleen T. Hogan 58 |
q_071 | factual | What are the actions Microsoft states it may take to resolve third-party intellectual property infringement claims, including those arising from AI training and output? | (1) Enter into royalty-bearing data access or licensing agreements on less favorable terms; (2) stop selling or redesign affected products or services; or (3) pay damages to satisfy indemnification commitments with customers. | microsoft | 2024 | To resolve these claims, we may enter into royalty-bearing data access or licensing agreements on terms that are less favorable than currently available, stop selling or redesign affected products or services, or pay damages to satisfy indemnification commitments with our customers. |
q_072 | factual | On which exchange does Microsoft's common stock trade, under what symbol, and how many registered holders of record did Microsoft have as of July 25, 2024? | Microsoft's common stock trades on the NASDAQ Stock Market under ticker symbol MSFT. As of July 25, 2024, Microsoft had 81,346 registered holders of record. | microsoft | 2024 | Our common stock is traded on the NASDAQ Stock Market under the symbol MSFT. On July 25, 2024, there were 81,346 registered holders of record of our common stock. |
q_073 | unanswerable | What is the demographic profile of Xbox players and purchasers, including age, gender, and income breakdown? | I don't have enough information in the provided context to answer this question. Microsoft's 10-K does not disclose demographic data about Xbox players or purchasers. | null | null | null |
q_074 | numerical | According to Microsoft's debt investment maturity schedule as of June 30, 2024, what were the adjusted cost basis and estimated fair value of debt investments maturing after five years (combining the 5-to-10-year bucket and the over-10-year bucket)? | $9,440 million in adjusted cost basis ($8,028M + $1,412M) and $8,524 million in estimated fair value ($7,242M + $1,282M). | microsoft | 2024 | Due after five years through 10 years 8,028 7,242 Due after 10 years 1,412 1,282 Total $ 68,209 $ 64,899 |
q_075 | factual | What are the two reportable segments of Google within Alphabet, and how are non-Google businesses reported? | Google is reported in two segments: Google Services and Google Cloud. All non-Google businesses are reported collectively as Other Bets. | google | 2024 | Alphabet is a collection of businesses — the largest of which is Google. We report Google in two segments, Google Services and Google Cloud, and all non-Google businesses collectively as Other Bets. |
q_076 | factual | Which Google DeepMind system solved the 50-year-old protein folding challenge, and in what year? | Google DeepMind's AlphaFold system solved the 50-year-old protein folding challenge in 2020. AlphaFold 3 was introduced in 2024. | google | 2024 | in 2020, Google DeepMind's AlphaFold system solved a 50-year-old protein folding challenge, and in 2024, we introduced AlphaFold 3 |
q_077 | multi_hop | How do Google's and Microsoft's climate commitments compare in terms of their operational sustainability targets and target year? | Both target 2030. Google (committed 2021) targets net-zero emissions across all operations and value chain by 2030, plus a one-gigaton annual emissions reduction aspiration through its products. Microsoft (committed 2020) targets carbon-negative, water-positive, and zero-waste by 2030 — a stricter commitment that also ... | multiple | 2024 | [Google]: In 2021, we set an ambitious goal to reach net-zero emissions across all of our operations and value chain by 2030. [Microsoft]: In 2020, we committed to being a carbon negative, water positive, and zero waste company by 2030. |
q_078 | factual | What risk does Google identify related to its 'Google' trademark, and what consequence could result if this risk materializes? | Google identifies the genericization risk — the word 'Google' could become synonymous with 'search.' If Google loses trademark protection, others could use 'Google' for their products, diminishing the brand. | google | 2024 | there is a risk that the word "Google" could become so commonly used that it becomes synonymous with the word "search." |
q_079 | negation | Does Alphabet state that it has adequate patent and copyright protection for all of its potentially important innovations? | No. Alphabet acknowledges that it may not have adequate patent or copyright protection for certain innovations that later turn out to be important. | google | 2024 | Moreover, we may not have adequate patent or copyright protection for certain innovations that later turn out to be important |
q_080 | negation | Does Google state that it can identify and resolve all AI-related ethical issues, deficiencies, and failures before they arise? | No. Google acknowledges it may not be able to identify or resolve all AI-related issues, deficiencies, and failures before they arise. Unintended consequences could negatively affect human rights, privacy, employment, or other social concerns. | google | 2024 | we may not be able to identify or resolve all AI-related issues, deficiencies, and/or failures before they arise. |
q_081 | multi_hop | How did Google's YouTube ads revenue change from 2022 to 2024, and what was the total growth over that three-year period? | $29,243M (2022) → $31,510M (2023) → $36,147M (2024). Total increase of $6,904 million (~23.6% growth). | google | "multiple" | [Google 2023 10-K]: YouTube ads 29,243 31,510. [Google 2024 10-K]: YouTube ads 29,243 31,510 36,147 |
q_082 | unanswerable | What is Google's Gemini model training cost? | I don't have enough information in the provided context to answer this question. Alphabet's 10-K does not disclose specific training costs for individual models like Gemini. | null | null | null |
q_083 | unanswerable | How much does Microsoft pay to OpenAI annually under its partnership agreement? | I don't have enough information in the provided context to answer this question. Microsoft's 10-K references its OpenAI partnership but does not disclose specific financial terms. | null | null | null |
q_084 | unanswerable | What is the average Netflix subscriber's monthly viewing hours? | I don't have enough information in the provided context to answer this question. Netflix's 10-K does not publicly disclose average per-subscriber viewing hours. | null | null | null |
q_085 | unanswerable | How many Prime Air drone deliveries did Amazon make in 2024? | I don't have enough information in the provided context to answer this question. Amazon's 10-K does not disclose specific delivery counts for drone operations. | null | null | null |
q_086 | unanswerable | What is Nvidia's R&D headcount in Shanghai? | I don't have enough information in the provided context to answer this question. Nvidia's 10-K does not disclose headcount by city. | null | null | null |
q_087 | multi_hop | How did Microsoft's and Netflix's basic earnings per share compare in fiscal 2024, and how did each company's basic EPS evolve across the three-year period reported in their fiscal 2024 filings? | Netflix $20.28 vs Microsoft $11.86 in fiscal 2024. Microsoft EPS: $9.70 (2022) → $9.72 (2023) → $11.86 (2024). Netflix EPS: $10.10 (2022) → $12.25 (2023) → $20.28 (2024). | multiple | 2024 | [Microsoft]: Basic $ 11.86 $ 9.72 $ 9.70. [Netflix]: Basic earnings per share $ 20.28 $ 12.25 $ 10.10 |
q_088 | factual | What is Netflix's primary source of revenue, and how many operating segments does the company report? | Netflix operates as one operating segment. Its revenues are primarily derived from monthly membership fees for streaming content to members. | netflix | 2024 | We operate as one operating segment. Our revenues are primarily derived from monthly membership fees for services related to streaming content to our members. |
q_089 | numerical | What was Netflix's streaming revenue in fiscal year 2024, and by what percentage did it grow compared to fiscal 2023? | $39,000,966 thousand (~$39.0 billion) in fiscal 2024, up 16% from $33,640,458 thousand (~$33.6 billion) in fiscal 2023. | netflix | 2024 | Streaming revenues $ 39,000,966 $ 33,640,458 $ 31,469,852 16 % |
q_090 | factual | Who is identified as the Chief Operating Decision Maker (CODM) at Netflix, and what financial metrics do they use to assess performance? | Netflix's co-chief executive officers are the CODM. They use consolidated operating margin and net income to assess financial performance and allocate resources. | netflix | 2024 | The Company's chief operating decision maker ("CODM") is its co-chief executive officers... The CODM uses consolidated operating margin and net income to assess financial performance and allocate resources |
q_091 | negation | Does Costco Travel offer its travel services to all citizens in the U.S. and U.K., or only to a specific group? | No. Costco Travel products are offered exclusively to Costco members. The service is available in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K. | costco | 2024 | Costco Travel offers vacation packages, car rentals, cruises and other travel products exclusively for Costco members (offered in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K.). |
q_092 | factual | What roles did Gary Millerchip hold before becoming Costco's Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer? | Senior Vice President and CFO of The Kroger Co. (April 2019 to February 2024), and prior to that, Chief Executive Officer of Kroger Personal Finance from July 2010. | costco | 2024 | Mr. Millerchip previously served as Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of The Kroger Co. from April 2019 to February 2024 and, prior to that, as Chief Executive Officer of Kroger Personal Finance since July 2010. |
q_093 | numerical | How many of Costco's leases are land-only leases where Costco owns the building, and how many total leases does Costco have? | 134 of Costco's 187 leases are land-only leases, where Costco owns the building. | costco | 2024 | 134 of the 187 leases are land-only leases, where Costco owns the building. |
q_094 | multi_hop | How many new warehouses did Costco open in fiscal year 2023 and fiscal year 2024, and how did the geographic breakdown differ between the two years? | Fiscal 2023: 26 new (including 3 relocations) — 13 net new U.S., 10 Other International. Fiscal 2024: 30 new (including 1 relocation) — 23 net new U.S., 1 Canada, 5 Other International. | costco | "multiple" | [Fiscal 2024]: We opened 30 new warehouses... 23 net new in the U.S., one new in our Canadian segment, and five new in our Other International segment... [Fiscal 2023]: We opened 26 new warehouses, including three relocations: 13 net new in the U.S. and 10 new in our Other International segment. |
q_095 | negation | Do Costco Executive members receive cashback as a cash payout, or in a different form? | No. The 2% reward is redeemable at Costco warehouses, not paid as cash. The reward is accounted for as a reduction in sales. | costco | 2023 | In most countries, the Company's Executive members qualify for a 2% reward on qualified purchases, subject to an annual maximum value, which does not expire and is redeemable at Costco warehouses. |
q_096 | comparison | How did Costco's stock-based compensation expense and recognized income tax benefit evolve from fiscal 2021 to fiscal 2023? | SBC expense: $665M (2021) → $724M (2022) → $774M (2023). Tax benefit: $140M (2021) → $154M (2022) → $163M (2023). | costco | 2023 | Stock-based compensation expense $ 774 $ 724 $ 665 Less recognized income tax benefit 163 154 140 |
q_097 | unanswerable | What is Costco's annual revenue from Kirkland Signature products specifically? | I don't have enough information in the provided context to answer this question. Costco's 10-K reports revenue by merchandise category and geography but does not break out sales for its Kirkland Signature private label specifically. | null | null | null |
q_098 | unanswerable | How much revenue does Costco earn from the sale of Apple products in its warehouses? | I don't have enough information in the provided context to answer this question. Costco's 10-K reports revenue by broad merchandise category and segment but does not break out sales by manufacturer or brand such as Apple. | null | null | null |
q_099 | multi_hop | In fiscal 2024, how did Google's YouTube ads revenue compare to Netflix's streaming revenue, and which was larger? | Netflix streaming revenue ($39.0B) was slightly larger than Google YouTube ads revenue ($36.1B) in fiscal 2024, by approximately $2.9 billion (~8%). | multiple | 2024 | [Google]: YouTube ads ... 36,147. [Netflix]: Streaming revenues $ 39,000,966 |
q_100 | factual | What are the key legal allegations against Costco in the Rodriguez v. Costco Wholesale Corp. case, and what relief is being sought? | The Rodriguez case (Case No. 22CV012847, Alameda Superior Court) seeks relief under the California Labor Code, including civil penalties and attorneys' fees. Costco filed an answer denying the material allegations. | costco | 2024 | Rodriguez v. Costco Wholesale Corp. (Case No. 22CV012847; Alameda Superior Court). The complaint seeks relief under the California Labor Code, including civil penalties and attorneys' fees. The Company filed an answer denying the material allegations of the complaint. |
SEC-RAG-Bench
A hand-written benchmark of 100 questions for evaluating RAG (Retrieval Augmented Generation) systems over SEC 10-K filings. Every question is anchored to a specific passage in a real filing, making it suitable for measuring Recall@K, Precision@K, Citation Accuracy, and refusal behavior.
Dataset summary
- 100 questions across 6 categories
- 8 companies: Apple, Google, Microsoft, Nvidia, Tesla, Costco, Netflix, Amazon
- Fiscal years 2022-2024
- Ground truth by construction: each question anchored to a real passage with company, year, and exact snippet recorded
Categories
| Category | Count | What it tests |
|---|---|---|
| Factual | 32 | Single-chunk fact retrieval |
| Numerical | 17 | Exact-match numbers and dollar amounts |
| Multi-hop | 14 | Information spanning two filings |
| Comparison | 8 | Cross-filing or cross-year comparisons |
| Negation | 14 | "Not", "excludes", precision-sensitive language |
| Unanswerable | 15 | Model should refuse rather than fabricate |
Dataset structure
JSONL format, one question per line. Example:
{
"id": "q_001",
"category": "factual",
"question": "What is the address of Apple's principal executive offices?",
"answer": "One Apple Park Way, Cupertino, California 95014",
"source_company": "apple",
"source_year": 2023,
"source_snippet": "One Apple Park Way, Cupertino, California 95014"
}
Fields
id: unique question identifier (q_001throughq_100)category: one offactual,numerical,multi_hop,comparison,negation,unanswerablequestion: the natural-language questionanswer: the expected answer (or null for unanswerable)source_company: company whose filing contains the answer (lowercase)source_year: fiscal year of the source filing (integer), or"multiple"for cross-year questionssource_snippet: exact text passage containing the answer (null for unanswerable)
Usage
Load with 🤗 Datasets
from datasets import load_dataset
ds = load_dataset("YOUR_USERNAME/sec-rag-bench")
print(ds["train"][0])
Load with pure Python
import json
questions = []
with open("benchmark_v1.jsonl") as f:
for line in f:
questions.append(json.loads(line))
Methodology
Each question was authored by hand against real 10-K passages. A paraphrase rule was enforced: question wording cannot trivially overlap with the source chunk, so retrieval has to work on meaning, not keyword matching.
Six categories were chosen to stress different retrieval failure modes:
- Factual tests the easy case (single chunk, direct answer).
- Numerical tests exact-match retrieval (dollar amounts, line items).
- Multi-hop tests cross-filing synthesis (same company, two years).
- Comparison tests cross-entity synthesis (two companies, same year).
- Negation tests precision on words like "not", "excludes".
- Unanswerable tests refusal behavior: the model should say "I don't know".
Evaluation metrics
Recommended metrics for using this benchmark:
- Recall@K: did the correct source chunk appear in the top-K?
- Precision@K: what fraction of top-K retrieved chunks were relevant?
- Citation Accuracy: did the generated answer cite the correct source number?
- Faithfulness (RAGAS): is every claim in the answer supported by context?
- Answer Relevancy (RAGAS): does the answer address the question?
- Refusal Accuracy: for unanswerable questions, did the model correctly refuse?
Known limitations
- Strict single-source labeling: SEC filings often publish the same information in multiple places (comparative-year data, cross-sections). The current ground truth credits only one source per question. The real recall rate is higher than measured when alternative sources are accepted.
- Comparison category is small (n=8): per-category numbers for comparison questions are noisy.
- English only, US filings only: no coverage of international filings or non-English language.
Source project
The benchmark was built as part of SEC-RAG-Bench, an evaluation-driven RAG platform. The full project includes hybrid retrieval (vector + BM25 via RRF), semantic caching, a multi-provider LLM gateway, and Prometheus/Grafana observability.
Citation
If you use this benchmark in research or writing:
@misc{sec-rag-bench-2026,
author = {Neha Rani},
title = {SEC-RAG-Bench: A Benchmark for Retrieval-Augmented Generation over SEC Filings},
year = {2026},
publisher = {Hugging Face},
howpublished = {\url{https://huggingface.co/datasets/YOUR_USERNAME/sec-rag-bench}}
}
License
MIT
Contact
Built by Neha Rani. Issues and improvements welcome via the GitHub repo.
- Downloads last month
- 18