sogou_news / README.md
albertvillanova's picture
Convert dataset sizes from base 2 to base 10 in the dataset card (#2)
52964e5
---
pretty_name: Sogou News
dataset_info:
features:
- name: title
dtype: string
- name: content
dtype: string
- name: label
dtype:
class_label:
names:
'0': sports
'1': finance
'2': entertainment
'3': automobile
'4': technology
splits:
- name: test
num_bytes: 168645860
num_examples: 60000
- name: train
num_bytes: 1257931136
num_examples: 450000
download_size: 384269937
dataset_size: 1426576996
---
# Dataset Card for "sogou_news"
## Table of Contents
- [Dataset Description](#dataset-description)
- [Dataset Summary](#dataset-summary)
- [Supported Tasks and Leaderboards](#supported-tasks-and-leaderboards)
- [Languages](#languages)
- [Dataset Structure](#dataset-structure)
- [Data Instances](#data-instances)
- [Data Fields](#data-fields)
- [Data Splits](#data-splits)
- [Dataset Creation](#dataset-creation)
- [Curation Rationale](#curation-rationale)
- [Source Data](#source-data)
- [Annotations](#annotations)
- [Personal and Sensitive Information](#personal-and-sensitive-information)
- [Considerations for Using the Data](#considerations-for-using-the-data)
- [Social Impact of Dataset](#social-impact-of-dataset)
- [Discussion of Biases](#discussion-of-biases)
- [Other Known Limitations](#other-known-limitations)
- [Additional Information](#additional-information)
- [Dataset Curators](#dataset-curators)
- [Licensing Information](#licensing-information)
- [Citation Information](#citation-information)
- [Contributions](#contributions)
## Dataset Description
- **Homepage:** []()
- **Repository:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Paper:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Point of Contact:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Size of downloaded dataset files:** 384.27 MB
- **Size of the generated dataset:** 1.43 GB
- **Total amount of disk used:** 1.81 GB
### Dataset Summary
The Sogou News dataset is a mixture of 2,909,551 news articles from the SogouCA and SogouCS news corpora, in 5 categories.
The number of training samples selected for each class is 90,000 and testing 12,000. Note that the Chinese characters have been converted to Pinyin.
classification labels of the news are determined by their domain names in the URL. For example, the news with
URL http://sports.sohu.com is categorized as a sport class.
### Supported Tasks and Leaderboards
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Languages
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Dataset Structure
### Data Instances
#### default
- **Size of downloaded dataset files:** 384.27 MB
- **Size of the generated dataset:** 1.43 GB
- **Total amount of disk used:** 1.81 GB
An example of 'train' looks as follows.
```
{
"content": "du2 jia1 ti2 go1ng me3i ri4 ba4o jia4 \\n re4 xia4n :010-64438227\\n che1 xi2ng ba4o jia4 - cha2 xu2n jie2 guo3 \\n pi3n pa2i xi2ng ha4o jia4 ge2 ji1ng xia1o sha1ng ri4 qi1 zha1 ka4n ca1n shu4 pi2ng lu4n ",
"label": 3,
"title": " da3o ha2ng "
}
```
### Data Fields
The data fields are the same among all splits.
#### default
- `title`: a `string` feature.
- `content`: a `string` feature.
- `label`: a classification label, with possible values including `sports` (0), `finance` (1), `entertainment` (2), `automobile` (3), `technology` (4).
### Data Splits
| name |train |test |
|-------|-----:|----:|
|default|450000|60000|
## Dataset Creation
### Curation Rationale
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Source Data
#### Initial Data Collection and Normalization
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
#### Who are the source language producers?
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Annotations
#### Annotation process
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
#### Who are the annotators?
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Personal and Sensitive Information
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Considerations for Using the Data
### Social Impact of Dataset
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Discussion of Biases
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Other Known Limitations
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Additional Information
### Dataset Curators
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Licensing Information
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Citation Information
```
@misc{zhang2015characterlevel,
title={Character-level Convolutional Networks for Text Classification},
author={Xiang Zhang and Junbo Zhao and Yann LeCun},
year={2015},
eprint={1509.01626},
archivePrefix={arXiv},
primaryClass={cs.LG}
}
```
### Contributions
Thanks to [@lhoestq](https://github.com/lhoestq), [@mariamabarham](https://github.com/mariamabarham), [@lewtun](https://github.com/lewtun), [@thomwolf](https://github.com/thomwolf) for adding this dataset.