wmt16 / README.md
---
pretty_name: WMT16
paperswithcode_id: wmt-2016
multilinguality:
- translation
task_categories:
- translation
task_ids: []
---
# Dataset Card for "wmt16"
## Table of Contents
- [Dataset Description](#dataset-description)
- [Dataset Summary](#dataset-summary)
- [Supported Tasks and Leaderboards](#supported-tasks-and-leaderboards)
- [Languages](#languages)
- [Dataset Structure](#dataset-structure)
- [Data Instances](#data-instances)
- [Data Fields](#data-fields)
- [Data Splits](#data-splits)
- [Dataset Creation](#dataset-creation)
- [Curation Rationale](#curation-rationale)
- [Source Data](#source-data)
- [Annotations](#annotations)
- [Personal and Sensitive Information](#personal-and-sensitive-information)
- [Considerations for Using the Data](#considerations-for-using-the-data)
- [Social Impact of Dataset](#social-impact-of-dataset)
- [Discussion of Biases](#discussion-of-biases)
- [Other Known Limitations](#other-known-limitations)
- [Additional Information](#additional-information)
- [Dataset Curators](#dataset-curators)
- [Licensing Information](#licensing-information)
- [Citation Information](#citation-information)
- [Contributions](#contributions)
## Dataset Description
- **Homepage:** [http://www.statmt.org/wmt16/translation-task.html](http://www.statmt.org/wmt16/translation-task.html)
- **Repository:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Paper:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Point of Contact:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Size of downloaded dataset files:** 1611.50 MB
- **Size of the generated dataset:** 283.51 MB
- **Total amount of disk used:** 1895.01 MB
### Dataset Summary
Translation dataset based on the data from statmt.org.
Versions exist for different years using a combination of data
sources. The base `wmt` allows you to create a custom dataset by choosing
your own data/language pair. This can be done as follows:
```python
from datasets import inspect_dataset, load_dataset_builder
inspect_dataset("wmt16", "path/to/scripts")
builder = load_dataset_builder(
"path/to/scripts/wmt_utils.py",
language_pair=("fr", "de"),
subsets={
datasets.Split.TRAIN: ["commoncrawl_frde"],
datasets.Split.VALIDATION: ["euelections_dev2019"],
},
)
# Standard version
builder.download_and_prepare()
ds = builder.as_dataset()
# Streamable version
ds = builder.as_streaming_dataset()
```
### Supported Tasks and Leaderboards
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Languages
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Dataset Structure
### Data Instances
#### cs-en
- **Size of downloaded dataset files:** 1611.50 MB
- **Size of the generated dataset:** 283.51 MB
- **Total amount of disk used:** 1895.01 MB
An example of 'validation' looks as follows.
```
```
### Data Fields
The data fields are the same among all splits.
#### cs-en
- `translation`: a multilingual `string` variable, with possible languages including `cs`, `en`.
### Data Splits
|name |train |validation|test|
|-----|-----:|---------:|---:|
|cs-en|997240| 2656|2999|
## Dataset Creation
### Curation Rationale
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Source Data
#### Initial Data Collection and Normalization
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
#### Who are the source language producers?
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Annotations
#### Annotation process
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
#### Who are the annotators?
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Personal and Sensitive Information
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Considerations for Using the Data
### Social Impact of Dataset
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Discussion of Biases
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Other Known Limitations
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Additional Information
### Dataset Curators
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Licensing Information
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Citation Information
```
@InProceedings{bojar-EtAl:2016:WMT1,
author = {Bojar, Ond {r}ej and Chatterjee, Rajen and Federmann, Christian and Graham, Yvette and Haddow, Barry and Huck, Matthias and Jimeno Yepes, Antonio and Koehn, Philipp and Logacheva, Varvara and Monz, Christof and Negri, Matteo and Neveol, Aurelie and Neves, Mariana and Popel, Martin and Post, Matt and Rubino, Raphael and Scarton, Carolina and Specia, Lucia and Turchi, Marco and Verspoor, Karin and Zampieri, Marcos},
title = {Findings of the 2016 Conference on Machine Translation},
booktitle = {Proceedings of the First Conference on Machine Translation},
month = {August},
year = {2016},
address = {Berlin, Germany},
publisher = {Association for Computational Linguistics},
pages = {131--198},
url = {http://www.aclweb.org/anthology/W/W16/W16-2301}
}
```
### Contributions
Thanks to [@thomwolf](https://github.com/thomwolf), [@patrickvonplaten](https://github.com/patrickvonplaten) for adding this dataset.