hate_offensive / README.md
---
annotations_creators:
- crowdsourced
language_creators:
- machine-generated
language:
- en
license:
- mit
multilinguality:
- monolingual
size_categories:
- 10K<n<100K
source_datasets:
- original
task_categories:
- text-classification
task_ids:
- multi-class-classification
- text-classification-other-hate-speech-detection
paperswithcode_id: hate-speech-and-offensive-language
pretty_name: HateOffensive
---
# Dataset Card for HateOffensive
## Table of Contents
- [Dataset Description](#dataset-description)
- [Dataset Summary](#dataset-summary)
- [Supported Tasks and Leaderboards](#supported-tasks-and-leaderboards)
- [Languages](#languages)
- [Dataset Structure](#dataset-structure)
- [Data Instances](#data-instances)
- [Data Fields](#data-fields)
- [Data Splits](#data-splits)
- [Dataset Creation](#dataset-creation)
- [Curation Rationale](#curation-rationale)
- [Source Data](#source-data)
- [Annotations](#annotations)
- [Personal and Sensitive Information](#personal-and-sensitive-information)
- [Considerations for Using the Data](#considerations-for-using-the-data)
- [Social Impact of Dataset](#social-impact-of-dataset)
- [Discussion of Biases](#discussion-of-biases)
- [Other Known Limitations](#other-known-limitations)
- [Additional Information](#additional-information)
- [Dataset Curators](#dataset-curators)
- [Licensing Information](#licensing-information)
- [Citation Information](#citation-information)
- [Contributions](#contributions)
## Dataset Description
- **Homepage** : https://arxiv.org/abs/1905.12516
- **Repository** : https://github.com/t-davidson/hate-speech-and-offensive-language
- **Paper** : https://arxiv.org/abs/1905.12516
- **Leaderboard** :
- **Point of Contact** : trd54 at cornell dot edu
### Dataset Summary
### Supported Tasks and Leaderboards
[More Information Needed]
### Languages
English (`en`)
## Dataset Structure
### Data Instances
```
{
"count": 3,
"hate_speech_annotation": 0,
"offensive_language_annotation": 0,
"neither_annotation": 3,
"label": 2, # "neither"
"tweet": "!!! RT @mayasolovely: As a woman you shouldn't complain about cleaning up your house. &amp; as a man you should always take the trash out...")
}
```
### Data Fields
count: (Integer) number of users who coded each tweet (min is 3, sometimes more users coded a tweet when judgments were determined to be unreliable,
hate_speech_annotation: (Integer) number of users who judged the tweet to be hate speech,
offensive_language_annotation: (Integer) number of users who judged the tweet to be offensive,
neither_annotation: (Integer) number of users who judged the tweet to be neither offensive nor non-offensive,
label: (Class Label) integer class label for majority of CF users (0: 'hate-speech', 1: 'offensive-language' or 2: 'neither'),
tweet: (string)
### Data Splits
This dataset is not splitted, only the train split is available.
## Dataset Creation
### Curation Rationale
[More Information Needed]
### Source Data
#### Initial Data Collection and Normalization
[More Information Needed]
#### Who are the source language producers?
[More Information Needed]
### Annotations
#### Annotation process
[More Information Needed]
#### Who are the annotators?
[More Information Needed]
### Personal and Sensitive Information
Usernames are not anonymized in the dataset.
## Considerations for Using the Data
### Social Impact of Dataset
[More Information Needed]
### Discussion of Biases
[More Information Needed]
### Other Known Limitations
[More Information Needed]
## Additional Information
### Dataset Curators
[More Information Needed]
### Licensing Information
MIT License
### Citation Information
@inproceedings{hateoffensive,
title = {Automated Hate Speech Detection and the Problem of Offensive Language},
author = {Davidson, Thomas and Warmsley, Dana and Macy, Michael and Weber, Ingmar},
booktitle = {Proceedings of the 11th International AAAI Conference on Web and Social Media},
series = {ICWSM '17},
year = {2017},
location = {Montreal, Canada},
pages = {512-515}
}
### Contributions
Thanks to [@MisbahKhan789](https://github.com/MisbahKhan789) for adding this dataset.