cos_e / README.md
---
language:
- en
paperswithcode_id: cos-e
pretty_name: Commonsense Explanations Dataset
---
# Dataset Card for "cos_e"
## Table of Contents
- [Dataset Description](#dataset-description)
- [Dataset Summary](#dataset-summary)
- [Supported Tasks and Leaderboards](#supported-tasks-and-leaderboards)
- [Languages](#languages)
- [Dataset Structure](#dataset-structure)
- [Data Instances](#data-instances)
- [Data Fields](#data-fields)
- [Data Splits](#data-splits)
- [Dataset Creation](#dataset-creation)
- [Curation Rationale](#curation-rationale)
- [Source Data](#source-data)
- [Annotations](#annotations)
- [Personal and Sensitive Information](#personal-and-sensitive-information)
- [Considerations for Using the Data](#considerations-for-using-the-data)
- [Social Impact of Dataset](#social-impact-of-dataset)
- [Discussion of Biases](#discussion-of-biases)
- [Other Known Limitations](#other-known-limitations)
- [Additional Information](#additional-information)
- [Dataset Curators](#dataset-curators)
- [Licensing Information](#licensing-information)
- [Citation Information](#citation-information)
- [Contributions](#contributions)
## Dataset Description
- **Homepage:** [https://github.com/salesforce/cos-e](https://github.com/salesforce/cos-e)
- **Repository:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Paper:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Point of Contact:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Size of downloaded dataset files:** 10.33 MB
- **Size of the generated dataset:** 5.14 MB
- **Total amount of disk used:** 15.47 MB
### Dataset Summary
Common Sense Explanations (CoS-E) allows for training language models to
automatically generate explanations that can be used during training and
inference in a novel Commonsense Auto-Generated Explanation (CAGE) framework.
### Supported Tasks and Leaderboards
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Languages
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Dataset Structure
### Data Instances
#### v1.0
- **Size of downloaded dataset files:** 4.10 MB
- **Size of the generated dataset:** 2.23 MB
- **Total amount of disk used:** 6.33 MB
An example of 'train' looks as follows.
```
{
"abstractive_explanation": "this is open-ended",
"answer": "b",
"choices": ["a", "b", "c"],
"extractive_explanation": "this is selected train",
"id": "42",
"question": "question goes here."
}
```
#### v1.11
- **Size of downloaded dataset files:** 6.23 MB
- **Size of the generated dataset:** 2.91 MB
- **Total amount of disk used:** 9.14 MB
An example of 'train' looks as follows.
```
{
"abstractive_explanation": "this is open-ended",
"answer": "b",
"choices": ["a", "b", "c"],
"extractive_explanation": "this is selected train",
"id": "42",
"question": "question goes here."
}
```
### Data Fields
The data fields are the same among all splits.
#### v1.0
- `id`: a `string` feature.
- `question`: a `string` feature.
- `choices`: a `list` of `string` features.
- `answer`: a `string` feature.
- `abstractive_explanation`: a `string` feature.
- `extractive_explanation`: a `string` feature.
#### v1.11
- `id`: a `string` feature.
- `question`: a `string` feature.
- `choices`: a `list` of `string` features.
- `answer`: a `string` feature.
- `abstractive_explanation`: a `string` feature.
- `extractive_explanation`: a `string` feature.
### Data Splits
|name |train|validation|
|-----|----:|---------:|
|v1.0 | 7610| 950|
|v1.11| 9741| 1221|
## Dataset Creation
### Curation Rationale
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Source Data
#### Initial Data Collection and Normalization
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
#### Who are the source language producers?
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Annotations
#### Annotation process
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
#### Who are the annotators?
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Personal and Sensitive Information
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Considerations for Using the Data
### Social Impact of Dataset
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Discussion of Biases
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Other Known Limitations
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Additional Information
### Dataset Curators
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Licensing Information
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Citation Information
```
@inproceedings{rajani2019explain,
title = "Explain Yourself! Leveraging Language models for Commonsense Reasoning",
author = "Rajani, Nazneen Fatema and
McCann, Bryan and
Xiong, Caiming and
Socher, Richard",
year="2019",
booktitle = "Proceedings of the 2019 Conference of the Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL2019)",
url ="https://arxiv.org/abs/1906.02361"
}
```
### Contributions
Thanks to [@lewtun](https://github.com/lewtun), [@thomwolf](https://github.com/thomwolf), [@mariamabarham](https://github.com/mariamabarham), [@patrickvonplaten](https://github.com/patrickvonplaten), [@albertvillanova](https://github.com/albertvillanova), [@lhoestq](https://github.com/lhoestq) for adding this dataset.