Datasets:

Task Categories: text-classification
Languages: English
Multilinguality: monolingual
Size Categories: 1K<n<10K
Language Creators: found
Annotations Creators: expert-generated
Source Datasets: original
Licenses: cc-by-4.0
poem_sentiment / README.md
---
annotations_creators:
- expert-generated
language_creators:
- found
language:
- en
license:
- cc-by-4.0
multilinguality:
- monolingual
size_categories:
- 1K<n<10K
source_datasets:
- original
task_categories:
- text-classification
task_ids:
- sentiment-classification
paperswithcode_id: gutenberg-poem-dataset
pretty_name: Gutenberg Poem Dataset
train-eval-index:
- config: default
task: text-classification
task_id: multi_class_classification
splits:
train_split: train
eval_split: test
col_mapping:
verse_text: text
label: target
metrics:
- type: accuracy
name: Accuracy
- type: f1
name: F1 macro
args:
average: macro
- type: f1
name: F1 micro
args:
average: micro
- type: f1
name: F1 weighted
args:
average: weighted
- type: precision
name: Precision macro
args:
average: macro
- type: precision
name: Precision micro
args:
average: micro
- type: precision
name: Precision weighted
args:
average: weighted
- type: recall
name: Recall macro
args:
average: macro
- type: recall
name: Recall micro
args:
average: micro
- type: recall
name: Recall weighted
args:
average: weighted
---
# Dataset Card for Gutenberg Poem Dataset
## Table of Contents
- [Dataset Description](#dataset-description)
- [Dataset Summary](#dataset-summary)
- [Supported Tasks and Leaderboards](#supported-tasks-and-leaderboards)
- [Languages](#languages)
- [Dataset Structure](#dataset-structure)
- [Data Instances](#data-instances)
- [Data Fields](#data-fields)
- [Data Splits](#data-splits)
- [Dataset Creation](#dataset-creation)
- [Curation Rationale](#curation-rationale)
- [Source Data](#source-data)
- [Annotations](#annotations)
- [Personal and Sensitive Information](#personal-and-sensitive-information)
- [Considerations for Using the Data](#considerations-for-using-the-data)
- [Social Impact of Dataset](#social-impact-of-dataset)
- [Discussion of Biases](#discussion-of-biases)
- [Other Known Limitations](#other-known-limitations)
- [Additional Information](#additional-information)
- [Dataset Curators](#dataset-curators)
- [Licensing Information](#licensing-information)
- [Citation Information](#citation-information)
- [Contributions](#contributions)
## Dataset Description
- **Homepage:** N/A
- **Repository:** [GitHub](https://github.com/google-research-datasets/poem-sentiment)
- **Paper:** [Investigating Societal Biases in a Poetry Composition System](https://arxiv.org/abs/2011.02686)
- **Leaderboard:** N/A
- **Point of Contact:** -
### Dataset Summary
Poem Sentiment is a sentiment dataset of poem verses from Project Gutenberg.
This dataset can be used for tasks such as sentiment classification or style transfer for poems.
### Supported Tasks and Leaderboards
[More Information Needed]
### Languages
The text in the dataset is in English (`en`).
## Dataset Structure
### Data Instances
Example of one instance in the dataset.
```{'id': 0, 'label': 2, 'verse_text': 'with pale blue berries. in these peaceful shades--'}```
### Data Fields
- `id`: index of the example
- `verse_text`: The text of the poem verse
- `label`: The sentiment label. Here
- 0 = negative
- 1 = positive
- 2 = no impact
- 3 = mixed (both negative and positive)
> Note: The original dataset uses different label indices (negative = -1, no impact = 0, positive = 1)
### Data Splits
The dataset is split into a `train`, `validation`, and `test` split with the following sizes:
| | train | validation | test |
|--------------------|------:|-----------:|-----:|
| Number of examples | 892 | 105 | 104 |
[More Information Needed]
## Dataset Creation
### Curation Rationale
[More Information Needed]
### Source Data
[More Information Needed]
#### Initial Data Collection and Normalization
[More Information Needed]
#### Who are the source language producers?
[More Information Needed]
### Annotations
[More Information Needed]
#### Annotation process
[More Information Needed]
#### Who are the annotators?
[More Information Needed]
### Personal and Sensitive Information
[More Information Needed]
## Considerations for Using the Data
### Social Impact of Dataset
[More Information Needed]
### Discussion of Biases
[More Information Needed]
### Other Known Limitations
[More Information Needed]
## Additional Information
### Dataset Curators
[More Information Needed]
### Licensing Information
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License
### Citation Information
```
@misc{sheng2020investigating,
title={Investigating Societal Biases in a Poetry Composition System},
author={Emily Sheng and David Uthus},
year={2020},
eprint={2011.02686},
archivePrefix={arXiv},
primaryClass={cs.CL}
}
```
### Contributions
Thanks to [@patil-suraj](https://github.com/patil-suraj) for adding this dataset.