Datasets:
itacola

Task Categories: text-classification
Languages: it
Multilinguality: monolingual
Size Categories: unknown
Licenses: unknown
Language Creators: expert-generated
Annotations Creators: expert-generated
Source Datasets: original
gsarti commited on
Commit
3022ad9
1 Parent(s): 8ca963f

Added dataset card

Browse files

Files changed (2) hide show
  1. README.md +158 -0
  2. itacola.py +6 -2
README.md ADDED
@@ -0,0 +1,158 @@
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
1
+ ---
2
+ annotations_creators:
3
+ - expert-generated
4
+ language_creators:
5
+ - expert-generated
6
+ languages:
7
+ - it
8
+ licenses:
9
+ - unknown
10
+ multilinguality:
11
+ - monolingual
12
+ pretty_name: itacola
13
+ size_categories:
14
+ - unknown
15
+ source_datasets:
16
+ - original
17
+ task_categories:
18
+ - text-classification
19
+ task_ids:
20
+ - acceptability-classification
21
+ ---
22
+
23
+ # Dataset Card for ItaCoLA
24
+
25
+ ## Table of Contents
26
+
27
+ - [Dataset Card for ItaCoLA](#dataset-card-for-itacola)
28
+ - [Table of Contents](#table-of-contents)
29
+ - [Dataset Description](#dataset-description)
30
+ - [Dataset Summary](#dataset-summary)
31
+ - [Supported Tasks and Leaderboards](#supported-tasks-and-leaderboards)
32
+ - [Acceptability Classification](#acceptability-classification)
33
+ - [Languages](#languages)
34
+ - [Dataset Structure](#dataset-structure)
35
+ - [Data Instances](#data-instances)
36
+ - [Scores Configuration](#scores-configuration)
37
+ - [Phenomena Configuration](#phenomena-configuration)
38
+ - [Data Splits](#data-splits)
39
+ - [Dataset Creation](#dataset-creation)
40
+ - [Additional Information](#additional-information)
41
+ - [Dataset Curators](#dataset-curators)
42
+ - [Licensing Information](#licensing-information)
43
+ - [Citation Information](#citation-information)
44
+
45
+ ## Dataset Description
46
+
47
+ - **Repository:** [Github](https://github.com/dhfbk/ItaCoLA-dataset)
48
+ - **Paper:** [Arxiv](http://ceur-ws.org/Vol-2765/paper169.pdf)
49
+ - **Point of Contact:** [Daniela Trotta](dtrotta@unisa.it)
50
+
51
+ ### Dataset Summary
52
+
53
+ The Italian Corpus of Linguistic Acceptability includes almost 10k sentences taken from linguistic literature with a binary annotation made by the original authors themselves. The work is inspired by the English [Corpus of Linguistic Acceptability](https://nyu-mll.github.io/CoLA/).
54
+
55
+ **Disclaimer**: *The ItaCoLA corpus is hosted on Github by the [Digital Humanities group at FBK](https://dh.fbk.eu/).
56
+
57
+ ### Supported Tasks and Leaderboards
58
+
59
+ #### Acceptability Classification
60
+
61
+ The following table is taken from Table 4 of the original paper, where an LSTM and a BERT model pretrained on the Italian languages are fine-tuned on the `train` split of the corpus and evaluated respectively on the `test` split (*In-domain*, `in`) and on the acceptability portion of the [AcCompl-it] corpus (*Out-of-domain*, `out`). Models are evaluated with accuracy (*Acc.*) and Matthews Correlation Coefficient (*MCC*) in both settings. Results are averaged over 10 runs with ±stdev. error bounds.
62
+
63
+ | | `in`, Acc.| `in`, MCC| `out`, Acc.|`out`, MCC|
64
+ |---------:|-----------:|----------:|-----------:|---------:|
65
+ |`LSTM` | 0.794 | 0.278 ± 0.029 | 0.605 | 0.147 ± 0.066 |
66
+ |`ITA-BERT`| 0.904 | 0.603 ± 0.022 | 0.683 | 0.198 ± 0.036 |
67
+
68
+ ### Languages
69
+
70
+ The language data in ItaCoLA is in Italian (BCP-47 `it`)
71
+
72
+ ## Dataset Structure
73
+
74
+ ### Data Instances
75
+
76
+ #### Scores Configuration
77
+
78
+ The `scores` configuration contains sentences with acceptability judgments. An example from the `train` split of the `scores` config (default) is provided below.
79
+
80
+ ```json
81
+ {
82
+ "unique_id": 1,
83
+ "source": "Graffi_1994",
84
+ "acceptability": 1,
85
+ "sentence": "Quest'uomo mi ha colpito."
86
+ }
87
+ ```
88
+
89
+ The text is provided as-is, without further preprocessing or tokenization.
90
+
91
+ The fields are the following:
92
+
93
+ - `unique_id`: Unique identifier for the sentence across configurations.
94
+ - `source`: Original source for the sentence.
95
+ - `acceptability`: Binary score, 1 = acceptable, 0 = not acceptable.
96
+ - `sentence`: The evaluated sentence.
97
+
98
+ #### Phenomena Configuration
99
+
100
+ The `phenomena` configuration contains a sample of sentences from `scores` that has been manually annotated to denote the presence of 9 linguistic phenomena. An example from the `train` split is provided below:
101
+
102
+ ```json
103
+ {
104
+ "unique_id": 1,
105
+ "source": "Graffi_1994",
106
+ "acceptability": 1,
107
+ "sentence": "Quest'uomo mi ha colpito.",
108
+ "cleft_construction": 0,
109
+ "copular_construction": 0,
110
+ "subject_verb_agreement": 1,
111
+ "wh_islands_violations": 0,
112
+ "simple": 0,
113
+ "question": 0,
114
+ "auxiliary": 1,
115
+ "bind": 0,
116
+ "indefinite_pronouns": 0
117
+ }
118
+ ```
119
+
120
+ For each one of the new fields, the value of the binary score denotes the presence (1) or the absence (0) of the respective phenomenon. Refer to the original paper for a detailed description of each phenomenon.
121
+
122
+ ### Data Splits
123
+
124
+ | config| train| test|
125
+ |----------:|-----:|----:|
126
+ |`scores` | 7801 | 975 |
127
+ |`phenomena`| 2088 | - |
128
+
129
+ ### Dataset Creation
130
+
131
+ Please refer to the original article [Monolingual and Cross-Lingual Acceptability Judgments with the Italian CoLA corpus](https://arxiv.org/abs/2109.12053) for additional information on dataset creation.
132
+
133
+ ## Additional Information
134
+
135
+ ### Dataset Curators
136
+
137
+ The authors are the curators of the original dataset. For problems or updates on this 🤗 Datasets version, please contact [gabriele.sarti996@gmail.com](mailto:gabriele.sarti996@gmail.com).
138
+
139
+ ### Licensing Information
140
+
141
+ No licensing information available.
142
+
143
+ ### Citation Information
144
+
145
+ Please cite the authors if you use these corpora in your work:
146
+
147
+ ```bibtex
148
+ @inproceedings{trotta-etal-2021-monolingual,
149
+ author = {Trotta, Daniela and Guarasci, Raffaele and Leonardelli, Elisa and Tonelli, Sara},
150
+ title = {Monolingual and Cross-Lingual Acceptability Judgments with the Italian {CoLA} corpus},
151
+ booktitle = "Findings of the Association for Computational Linguistics: EMNLP 2021",
152
+ month = nov,
153
+ year = {2021},
154
+ address = "Punta Cana, Dominican Republic and Online",
155
+ publisher = "Association for Computational Linguistics",
156
+ url = "https://arxiv.org/abs/2109.12053",
157
+ }
158
+ ```
itacola.py CHANGED
@@ -8,11 +8,15 @@ csv.field_size_limit(sys.maxsize)
8
 
9
 
10
  _CITATION = """\
11
- @inproceedings{trotta-etal-2021-itacola,
12
  author = {Trotta, Daniela and Guarasci, Raffaele and Leonardelli, Elisa and Tonelli, Sara},
13
  title = {Monolingual and Cross-Lingual Acceptability Judgments with the Italian {CoLA} corpus},
14
- journal = {Arxiv preprint},
 
15
  year = {2021},
 
 
 
16
  }
17
  """
18
 
8
 
9
 
10
  _CITATION = """\
11
+ @inproceedings{trotta-etal-2021-monolingual,
12
  author = {Trotta, Daniela and Guarasci, Raffaele and Leonardelli, Elisa and Tonelli, Sara},
13
  title = {Monolingual and Cross-Lingual Acceptability Judgments with the Italian {CoLA} corpus},
14
+ booktitle = "Findings of the Association for Computational Linguistics: EMNLP 2021",
15
+ month = nov,
16
  year = {2021},
17
+ address = "Punta Cana, Dominican Republic and Online",
18
+ publisher = "Association for Computational Linguistics",
19
+ url = "https://arxiv.org/abs/2109.12053",
20
  }
21
  """
22