

MONETARY BOARD CENTRAL BANK OF SRI LANKA

November 2020 BANKING ACT DETERMINATION

No. 01 of 2020

ANNUAL LICENCE FEE OF

LICENSED COMMERCIAL BANKS AND LICENSED SPECIALISED BANKS

Determination made by the Monetary Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka under Sections 8 and 76D (6) of the Banking Act, No. 30 of 1988, as amended.

The Monetary Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka (CBSL), considering the possible adverse impact on licensed banks due to the COVID-19 outbreak and in line with the extraordinary regulatory measures introduced by CBSL, has determined to maintain licence fee structure applicable for years 2019 and 2020 unchanged for the year 2021.

Accordingly, in terms of Sections 8(1) and 76D (6) of the Banking Act No. 30 of 1988, every licensed commercial bank and licensed specialised bank shall pay the licence fee in respect of the calendar year 2021 to the Central Bank of Sri Lanka on or before 31 January 2021, based on the total assets of such bank as at the end of 2020, as set out in the Table below.

Total Assets as at the end 2020 (Rs. Bn)	Licence Fee (Rs. Mn)
Above 1000	33
Above 750 to 1000	32
Above 500 to 750	26
Above 200 to 500	23
Above 125 to 200	17
Above 75 to 125	11.6
25 to 75	6
Less than 25	3

Annual licence fee for the year 2021

Blabshuna

Prof/W D Lakshman Chairman of the Monetary Board and Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka