danyaljj's picture add files 005e34f
---
annotations_creators:
- expert-generated
language_creators:
- expert-generated
languages:
- fa
licenses:
- cc-by-nc-sa-4.0
multilinguality:
- monolingual
size_categories:
- 1K<n<10K
source_datasets:
- extended|translated|mnli
task_categories:
- textual-entailment
- natural-language-inference
task_ids:
- textual-entailment
- natural-language-inference
---
# Dataset Card for PersiNLU (Textual Entailment)
## Table of Contents
- [Dataset Card for PersiNLU (Textual Entailment)](#dataset-card-for-persi_nlu_entailment)
- [Table of Contents](#table-of-contents)
- [Dataset Description](#dataset-description)
- [Dataset Summary](#dataset-summary)
- [Supported Tasks and Leaderboards](#supported-tasks-and-leaderboards)
- [Languages](#languages)
- [Dataset Structure](#dataset-structure)
- [Data Instances](#data-instances)
- [Data Fields](#data-fields)
- [Data Splits](#data-splits)
- [Dataset Creation](#dataset-creation)
- [Curation Rationale](#curation-rationale)
- [Source Data](#source-data)
- [Initial Data Collection and Normalization](#initial-data-collection-and-normalization)
- [Who are the source language producers?](#who-are-the-source-language-producers)
- [Annotations](#annotations)
- [Annotation process](#annotation-process)
- [Who are the annotators?](#who-are-the-annotators)
- [Personal and Sensitive Information](#personal-and-sensitive-information)
- [Considerations for Using the Data](#considerations-for-using-the-data)
- [Social Impact of Dataset](#social-impact-of-dataset)
- [Discussion of Biases](#discussion-of-biases)
- [Other Known Limitations](#other-known-limitations)
- [Additional Information](#additional-information)
- [Dataset Curators](#dataset-curators)
- [Licensing Information](#licensing-information)
- [Citation Information](#citation-information)
- [Contributions](#contributions)
## Dataset Description
- **Homepage:** [Github](https://github.com/persiannlp/parsinlu/)
- **Repository:** [Github](https://github.com/persiannlp/parsinlu/)
- **Paper:** [Arxiv](https://arxiv.org/abs/2012.06154)
- **Leaderboard:**
- **Point of Contact:** d.khashabi@gmail.com
### Dataset Summary
A Persian textual entailment task (deciding `sent1` entails `sent2`).
The questions are partially translated from the SNLI dataset and partially generated by expert annotators.
### Supported Tasks and Leaderboards
[More Information Needed]
### Languages
The text dataset is in Persian (`fa`).
## Dataset Structure
### Data Instances
Here is an example from the dataset:
```json
{
"sent1": "سالها است که کنگره در تلاش است تا اثربخشی مدیریت اطلاعات و فناوری را در دولت فدرال افزایش دهد.",
"sent2": "کنگره بودجه ویژه ای برای مدیریت اطلاعات و فناوری در دولت فدرال دارد.",
"label": "n",
"category": "translation-train"
}
```
### Data Fields
- `sent1`: the first sentence.
- `sent2`: the second sentence.
- `source`: whether the questions are translated from MNLI (`translation-.`) or they're written by native speakers (`natural-.`).
- `label`: `e` if `sent2` is entailed from `sent1`; `c` if `sent2` is contradictory to `sent1`; `n` if the two sentences are neutral.
### Data Splits
The train/dev/test splits contains 756/271/1751 samples.
## Dataset Creation
### Curation Rationale
For details, check [the corresponding draft](https://arxiv.org/abs/2012.06154).
### Source Data
#### Initial Data Collection and Normalization
[More Information Needed]
#### Who are the source language producers?
[More Information Needed]
### Annotations
#### Annotation process
[More Information Needed]
#### Who are the annotators?
[More Information Needed]
### Personal and Sensitive Information
[More Information Needed]
## Considerations for Using the Data
### Social Impact of Dataset
[More Information Needed]
### Discussion of Biases
[More Information Needed]
### Other Known Limitations
[More Information Needed]
## Additional Information
### Dataset Curators
[More Information Needed]
### Licensing Information
CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 License
### Citation Information
```bibtex
@article{huggingface:dataset,
title = {ParsiNLU: A Suite of Language Understanding Challenges for Persian},
authors = {Khashabi, Daniel and Cohan, Arman and Shakeri, Siamak and Hosseini, Pedram and Pezeshkpour, Pouya and Alikhani, Malihe and Aminnaseri, Moin and Bitaab, Marzieh and Brahman, Faeze and Ghazarian, Sarik and others},
year={2020}
journal = {arXiv e-prints},
eprint = {2012.06154},
}
```
### Contributions
Thanks to [@danyaljj](https://github.com/danyaljj) for adding this dataset.