Datasets:

Task Categories: translation
Multilinguality: multilingual
Language Creators: found
Annotations Creators: found
Source Datasets: original
Licenses: unknown
opus_wikipedia / README.md
---
annotations_creators:
- found
language_creators:
- found
language:
- ar
- bg
- cs
- de
- el
- en
- es
- fa
- fr
- he
- hu
- it
- nl
- pl
- pt
- ro
- ru
- sl
- tr
- vi
license:
- unknown
multilinguality:
- multilingual
size_categories:
- 100K<n<1M
- 10K<n<100K
source_datasets:
- original
task_categories:
- translation
task_ids: []
paperswithcode_id: null
pretty_name: OpusWikipedia
configs:
- ar-en
- ar-pl
- en-ru
- en-sl
- en-vi
---
# Dataset Card for OpusWikipedia
## Table of Contents
- [Dataset Description](#dataset-description)
- [Dataset Summary](#dataset-summary)
- [Supported Tasks and Leaderboards](#supported-tasks-and-leaderboards)
- [Languages](#languages)
- [Dataset Structure](#dataset-structure)
- [Data Instances](#data-instances)
- [Data Fields](#data-fields)
- [Data Splits](#data-splits)
- [Dataset Creation](#dataset-creation)
- [Curation Rationale](#curation-rationale)
- [Source Data](#source-data)
- [Annotations](#annotations)
- [Personal and Sensitive Information](#personal-and-sensitive-information)
- [Considerations for Using the Data](#considerations-for-using-the-data)
- [Social Impact of Dataset](#social-impact-of-dataset)
- [Discussion of Biases](#discussion-of-biases)
- [Other Known Limitations](#other-known-limitations)
- [Additional Information](#additional-information)
- [Dataset Curators](#dataset-curators)
- [Licensing Information](#licensing-information)
- [Citation Information](#citation-information)
- [Contributions](#contributions)
## Dataset Description
- **Homepage:** http://opus.nlpl.eu/Wikipedia.php
- **Repository:** None
- **Paper:** http://www.lrec-conf.org/proceedings/lrec2012/pdf/463_Paper.pdf
- **Leaderboard:** [More Information Needed]
- **Point of Contact:** [More Information Needed]
### Dataset Summary
This is a corpus of parallel sentences extracted from Wikipedia by Krzysztof Wołk and Krzysztof Marasek.
Tha dataset contains 20 languages and 36 bitexts.
To load a language pair which isn't part of the config, all you need to do is specify the language code as pairs,
e.g.
```python
dataset = load_dataset("opus_wikipedia", lang1="it", lang2="pl")
```
You can find the valid pairs in Homepage section of Dataset Description: http://opus.nlpl.eu/Wikipedia.php
### Supported Tasks and Leaderboards
[More Information Needed]
### Languages
The languages in the dataset are:
- ar
- bg
- cs
- de
- el
- en
- es
- fa
- fr
- he
- hu
- it
- nl
- pl
- pt
- ro
- ru
- sl
- tr
- vi
## Dataset Structure
### Data Instances
```
{
'id': '0',
'translation': {
"ar": "* Encyclopaedia of Mathematics online encyclopaedia from Springer, Graduate-level reference work with over 8,000 entries, illuminating nearly 50,000 notions in mathematics.",
"en": "*Encyclopaedia of Mathematics online encyclopaedia from Springer, Graduate-level reference work with over 8,000 entries, illuminating nearly 50,000 notions in mathematics."
}
}
```
### Data Fields
- `id` (`str`): Unique identifier of the parallel sentence for the pair of languages.
- `translation` (`dict`): Parallel sentences for the pair of languages.
### Data Splits
The dataset contains a single `train` split.
## Dataset Creation
### Curation Rationale
[More Information Needed]
### Source Data
[More Information Needed]
#### Initial Data Collection and Normalization
[More Information Needed]
#### Who are the source language producers?
[More Information Needed]
### Annotations
[More Information Needed]
#### Annotation process
[More Information Needed]
#### Who are the annotators?
[More Information Needed]
### Personal and Sensitive Information
[More Information Needed]
## Considerations for Using the Data
### Social Impact of Dataset
[More Information Needed]
### Discussion of Biases
[More Information Needed]
### Other Known Limitations
[More Information Needed]
## Additional Information
### Dataset Curators
[More Information Needed]
### Licensing Information
[More Information Needed]
### Citation Information
```bibtex
@article{WOLK2014126,
title = {Building Subject-aligned Comparable Corpora and Mining it for Truly Parallel Sentence Pairs},
journal = {Procedia Technology},
volume = {18},
pages = {126-132},
year = {2014},
note = {International workshop on Innovations in Information and Communication Science and Technology, IICST 2014, 3-5 September 2014, Warsaw, Poland},
issn = {2212-0173},
doi = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.protcy.2014.11.024},
url = {https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S2212017314005453},
author = {Krzysztof Wołk and Krzysztof Marasek},
keywords = {Comparable corpora, machine translation, NLP},
}
```
```bibtex
@InProceedings{TIEDEMANN12.463,
author = {J{\"o}rg Tiedemann},
title = {Parallel Data, Tools and Interfaces in OPUS},
booktitle = {Proceedings of the Eight International Conference on Language Resources and Evaluation (LREC'12)},
year = {2012},
month = {may},
date = {23-25},
address = {Istanbul, Turkey},
editor = {Nicoletta Calzolari (Conference Chair) and Khalid Choukri and Thierry Declerck and Mehmet Ugur Dogan and Bente Maegaard and Joseph Mariani and Jan Odijk and Stelios Piperidis},
publisher = {European Language Resources Association (ELRA)},
isbn = {978-2-9517408-7-7},
language = {english}
}
```
### Contributions
Thanks to [@rkc007](https://github.com/rkc007) for adding this dataset.