Datasets:
hans

Task Categories: text-classification
Languages: English
Multilinguality: monolingual
Size Categories: 10K<n<100K
Language Creators: expert-generated
Annotations Creators: expert-generated
Source Datasets: original
Licenses: unknown
hans / README.md
---
annotations_creators:
- expert-generated
language_creators:
- expert-generated
language:
- en
license:
- unknown
multilinguality:
- monolingual
size_categories:
- 10K<n<100K
source_datasets:
- original
task_categories:
- text-classification
task_ids:
- natural-language-inference
paperswithcode_id: hans
pretty_name: Heuristic Analysis for NLI Systems
---
# Dataset Card for "hans"
## Table of Contents
- [Dataset Description](#dataset-description)
- [Dataset Summary](#dataset-summary)
- [Supported Tasks and Leaderboards](#supported-tasks-and-leaderboards)
- [Languages](#languages)
- [Dataset Structure](#dataset-structure)
- [Data Instances](#data-instances)
- [Data Fields](#data-fields)
- [Data Splits](#data-splits)
- [Dataset Creation](#dataset-creation)
- [Curation Rationale](#curation-rationale)
- [Source Data](#source-data)
- [Annotations](#annotations)
- [Personal and Sensitive Information](#personal-and-sensitive-information)
- [Considerations for Using the Data](#considerations-for-using-the-data)
- [Social Impact of Dataset](#social-impact-of-dataset)
- [Discussion of Biases](#discussion-of-biases)
- [Other Known Limitations](#other-known-limitations)
- [Additional Information](#additional-information)
- [Dataset Curators](#dataset-curators)
- [Licensing Information](#licensing-information)
- [Citation Information](#citation-information)
- [Contributions](#contributions)
## Dataset Description
- **Homepage:** [https://github.com/tommccoy1/hans](https://github.com/tommccoy1/hans)
- **Repository:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Paper:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Point of Contact:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Size of downloaded dataset files:** 29.51 MB
- **Size of the generated dataset:** 30.34 MB
- **Total amount of disk used:** 59.85 MB
### Dataset Summary
The HANS dataset is an NLI evaluation set that tests specific hypotheses about invalid heuristics that NLI models are likely to learn.
### Supported Tasks and Leaderboards
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Languages
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Dataset Structure
### Data Instances
#### plain_text
- **Size of downloaded dataset files:** 29.51 MB
- **Size of the generated dataset:** 30.34 MB
- **Total amount of disk used:** 59.85 MB
An example of 'train' looks as follows.
```
```
### Data Fields
The data fields are the same among all splits.
#### plain_text
- `premise`: a `string` feature.
- `hypothesis`: a `string` feature.
- `label`: a classification label, with possible values including `entailment` (0), `non-entailment` (1).
- `parse_premise`: a `string` feature.
- `parse_hypothesis`: a `string` feature.
- `binary_parse_premise`: a `string` feature.
- `binary_parse_hypothesis`: a `string` feature.
- `heuristic`: a `string` feature.
- `subcase`: a `string` feature.
- `template`: a `string` feature.
### Data Splits
| name |train|validation|
|----------|----:|---------:|
|plain_text|30000| 30000|
## Dataset Creation
### Curation Rationale
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Source Data
#### Initial Data Collection and Normalization
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
#### Who are the source language producers?
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Annotations
#### Annotation process
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
#### Who are the annotators?
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Personal and Sensitive Information
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Considerations for Using the Data
### Social Impact of Dataset
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Discussion of Biases
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Other Known Limitations
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Additional Information
### Dataset Curators
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Licensing Information
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Citation Information
```
@article{DBLP:journals/corr/abs-1902-01007,
author = {R. Thomas McCoy and
Ellie Pavlick and
Tal Linzen},
title = {Right for the Wrong Reasons: Diagnosing Syntactic Heuristics in Natural
Language Inference},
journal = {CoRR},
volume = {abs/1902.01007},
year = {2019},
url = {http://arxiv.org/abs/1902.01007},
archivePrefix = {arXiv},
eprint = {1902.01007},
timestamp = {Tue, 21 May 2019 18:03:36 +0200},
biburl = {https://dblp.org/rec/journals/corr/abs-1902-01007.bib},
bibsource = {dblp computer science bibliography, https://dblp.org}
}
```
### Contributions
Thanks to [@TevenLeScao](https://github.com/TevenLeScao), [@thomwolf](https://github.com/thomwolf) for adding this dataset.