---
language:
- en
paperswithcode_id: cornell-movie-dialogs-corpus
pretty_name: Cornell Movie-Dialogs Corpus
---
# Dataset Card for "cornell_movie_dialog"
## Table of Contents
- [Dataset Description](#dataset-description)
- [Dataset Summary](#dataset-summary)
- [Supported Tasks and Leaderboards](#supported-tasks-and-leaderboards)
- [Languages](#languages)
- [Dataset Structure](#dataset-structure)
- [Data Instances](#data-instances)
- [Data Fields](#data-fields)
- [Data Splits](#data-splits)
- [Dataset Creation](#dataset-creation)
- [Curation Rationale](#curation-rationale)
- [Source Data](#source-data)
- [Annotations](#annotations)
- [Personal and Sensitive Information](#personal-and-sensitive-information)
- [Considerations for Using the Data](#considerations-for-using-the-data)
- [Social Impact of Dataset](#social-impact-of-dataset)
- [Discussion of Biases](#discussion-of-biases)
- [Other Known Limitations](#other-known-limitations)
- [Additional Information](#additional-information)
- [Dataset Curators](#dataset-curators)
- [Licensing Information](#licensing-information)
- [Citation Information](#citation-information)
- [Contributions](#contributions)
## Dataset Description
- **Homepage:** [http://www.cs.cornell.edu/~cristian/Cornell_Movie-Dialogs_Corpus.html](http://www.cs.cornell.edu/~cristian/Cornell_Movie-Dialogs_Corpus.html)
- **Repository:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Paper:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Point of Contact:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Size of downloaded dataset files:** 9.46 MB
- **Size of the generated dataset:** 18.64 MB
- **Total amount of disk used:** 28.10 MB
### Dataset Summary
This corpus contains a large metadata-rich collection of fictional conversations extracted from raw movie scripts:
- 220,579 conversational exchanges between 10,292 pairs of movie characters
- involves 9,035 characters from 617 movies
- in total 304,713 utterances
- movie metadata included:
- genres
- release year
- IMDB rating
- number of IMDB votes
- IMDB rating
- character metadata included:
- gender (for 3,774 characters)
- position on movie credits (3,321 characters)
### Supported Tasks and Leaderboards
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Languages
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Dataset Structure
### Data Instances
#### default
- **Size of downloaded dataset files:** 9.46 MB
- **Size of the generated dataset:** 18.64 MB
- **Total amount of disk used:** 28.10 MB
An example of 'train' looks as follows.
```
{
"characterID1": "u0 ",
"characterID2": " u2 ",
"characterName1": " m0 ",
"characterName2": " m0 ",
"movieGenres": ["comedy", "romance"],
"movieID": " m0 ",
"movieIMDBRating": " 6.90 ",
"movieNoIMDBVotes": " 62847 ",
"movieTitle": " f ",
"movieYear": " 1999 ",
"utterance": {
"LineID": ["L1"],
"text": ["L1 "]
}
}
```
### Data Fields
The data fields are the same among all splits.
#### default
- `movieID`: a `string` feature.
- `movieTitle`: a `string` feature.
- `movieYear`: a `string` feature.
- `movieIMDBRating`: a `string` feature.
- `movieNoIMDBVotes`: a `string` feature.
- `movieGenres`: a `list` of `string` features.
- `characterID1`: a `string` feature.
- `characterID2`: a `string` feature.
- `characterName1`: a `string` feature.
- `characterName2`: a `string` feature.
- `utterance`: a dictionary feature containing:
- `text`: a `string` feature.
- `LineID`: a `string` feature.
### Data Splits
| name |train|
|-------|----:|
|default|83097|
## Dataset Creation
### Curation Rationale
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Source Data
#### Initial Data Collection and Normalization
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
#### Who are the source language producers?
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Annotations
#### Annotation process
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
#### Who are the annotators?
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Personal and Sensitive Information
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Considerations for Using the Data
### Social Impact of Dataset
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Discussion of Biases
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Other Known Limitations
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Additional Information
### Dataset Curators
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Licensing Information
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Citation Information
```
@InProceedings{Danescu-Niculescu-Mizil+Lee:11a,
author={Cristian Danescu-Niculescu-Mizil and Lillian Lee},
title={Chameleons in imagined conversations:
A new approach to understanding coordination of linguistic style in dialogs.},
booktitle={Proceedings of the
Workshop on Cognitive Modeling and Computational Linguistics, ACL 2011},
year={2011}
}
```
### Contributions
Thanks to [@mariamabarham](https://github.com/mariamabarham), [@patrickvonplaten](https://github.com/patrickvonplaten), [@thomwolf](https://github.com/thomwolf) for adding this dataset.