civil_comments / README.md
---
language:
- en
paperswithcode_id: null
pretty_name: CivilComments
---
# Dataset Card for "civil_comments"
## Table of Contents
- [Dataset Description](#dataset-description)
- [Dataset Summary](#dataset-summary)
- [Supported Tasks and Leaderboards](#supported-tasks-and-leaderboards)
- [Languages](#languages)
- [Dataset Structure](#dataset-structure)
- [Data Instances](#data-instances)
- [Data Fields](#data-fields)
- [Data Splits](#data-splits)
- [Dataset Creation](#dataset-creation)
- [Curation Rationale](#curation-rationale)
- [Source Data](#source-data)
- [Annotations](#annotations)
- [Personal and Sensitive Information](#personal-and-sensitive-information)
- [Considerations for Using the Data](#considerations-for-using-the-data)
- [Social Impact of Dataset](#social-impact-of-dataset)
- [Discussion of Biases](#discussion-of-biases)
- [Other Known Limitations](#other-known-limitations)
- [Additional Information](#additional-information)
- [Dataset Curators](#dataset-curators)
- [Licensing Information](#licensing-information)
- [Citation Information](#citation-information)
- [Contributions](#contributions)
## Dataset Description
- **Homepage:** [https://www.kaggle.com/c/jigsaw-unintended-bias-in-toxicity-classification/data](https://www.kaggle.com/c/jigsaw-unintended-bias-in-toxicity-classification/data)
- **Repository:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Paper:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Point of Contact:** [More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
- **Size of downloaded dataset files:** 395.73 MB
- **Size of the generated dataset:** 630.60 MB
- **Total amount of disk used:** 1026.33 MB
### Dataset Summary
The comments in this dataset come from an archive of the Civil Comments
platform, a commenting plugin for independent news sites. These public comments
were created from 2015 - 2017 and appeared on approximately 50 English-language
news sites across the world. When Civil Comments shut down in 2017, they chose
to make the public comments available in a lasting open archive to enable future
research. The original data, published on figshare, includes the public comment
text, some associated metadata such as article IDs, timestamps and
commenter-generated "civility" labels, but does not include user ids. Jigsaw
extended this dataset by adding additional labels for toxicity and identity
mentions. This data set is an exact replica of the data released for the
Jigsaw Unintended Bias in Toxicity Classification Kaggle challenge. This
dataset is released under CC0, as is the underlying comment text.
### Supported Tasks and Leaderboards
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Languages
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Dataset Structure
### Data Instances
#### default
- **Size of downloaded dataset files:** 395.73 MB
- **Size of the generated dataset:** 630.60 MB
- **Total amount of disk used:** 1026.33 MB
An example of 'validation' looks as follows.
```
{
"identity_attack": 0.0,
"insult": 0.0,
"obscene": 0.0,
"severe_toxicity": 0.0,
"sexual_explicit": 0.0,
"text": "The public test.",
"threat": 0.0,
"toxicity": 0.0
}
```
### Data Fields
The data fields are the same among all splits.
#### default
- `text`: a `string` feature.
- `toxicity`: a `float32` feature.
- `severe_toxicity`: a `float32` feature.
- `obscene`: a `float32` feature.
- `threat`: a `float32` feature.
- `insult`: a `float32` feature.
- `identity_attack`: a `float32` feature.
- `sexual_explicit`: a `float32` feature.
### Data Splits
| name | train |validation|test |
|-------|------:|---------:|----:|
|default|1804874| 97320|97320|
## Dataset Creation
### Curation Rationale
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Source Data
#### Initial Data Collection and Normalization
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
#### Who are the source language producers?
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Annotations
#### Annotation process
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
#### Who are the annotators?
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Personal and Sensitive Information
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Considerations for Using the Data
### Social Impact of Dataset
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Discussion of Biases
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Other Known Limitations
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
## Additional Information
### Dataset Curators
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Licensing Information
[More Information Needed](https://github.com/huggingface/datasets/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md#how-to-contribute-to-the-dataset-cards)
### Citation Information
```
@article{DBLP:journals/corr/abs-1903-04561,
author = {Daniel Borkan and
Lucas Dixon and
Jeffrey Sorensen and
Nithum Thain and
Lucy Vasserman},
title = {Nuanced Metrics for Measuring Unintended Bias with Real Data for Text
Classification},
journal = {CoRR},
volume = {abs/1903.04561},
year = {2019},
url = {http://arxiv.org/abs/1903.04561},
archivePrefix = {arXiv},
eprint = {1903.04561},
timestamp = {Sun, 31 Mar 2019 19:01:24 +0200},
biburl = {https://dblp.org/rec/bib/journals/corr/abs-1903-04561},
bibsource = {dblp computer science bibliography, https://dblp.org}
}
```
### Contributions
Thanks to [@lewtun](https://github.com/lewtun), [@patrickvonplaten](https://github.com/patrickvonplaten), [@thomwolf](https://github.com/thomwolf) for adding this dataset.