best2009 / README.md
---
annotations_creators:
- expert-generated
language_creators:
- found
language:
- th
license:
- cc-by-nc-sa-3.0
multilinguality:
- monolingual
size_categories:
- 100K<n<1M
source_datasets:
- original
task_categories:
- token-classification
task_ids:
- token-classification-other-word-tokenization
paperswithcode_id: null
pretty_name: best2009
---
# Dataset Card for `best2009`
## Table of Contents
- [Dataset Description](#dataset-description)
- [Dataset Summary](#dataset-summary)
- [Supported Tasks and Leaderboards](#supported-tasks-and-leaderboards)
- [Languages](#languages)
- [Dataset Structure](#dataset-structure)
- [Data Instances](#data-instances)
- [Data Fields](#data-fields)
- [Data Splits](#data-splits)
- [Dataset Creation](#dataset-creation)
- [Curation Rationale](#curation-rationale)
- [Source Data](#source-data)
- [Annotations](#annotations)
- [Personal and Sensitive Information](#personal-and-sensitive-information)
- [Considerations for Using the Data](#considerations-for-using-the-data)
- [Social Impact of Dataset](#social-impact-of-dataset)
- [Discussion of Biases](#discussion-of-biases)
- [Other Known Limitations](#other-known-limitations)
- [Additional Information](#additional-information)
- [Dataset Curators](#dataset-curators)
- [Licensing Information](#licensing-information)
- [Citation Information](#citation-information)
- [Contributions](#contributions)
## Dataset Description
- **Homepage:** https://aiforthai.in.th/
- **Repository:** https://aiforthai.in.th/corpus.php
- **Paper:**
- **Leaderboard:**
- **Point of Contact:** https://aiforthai.in.th/
### Dataset Summary
`best2009` is a Thai word-tokenization dataset from encyclopedia, novels, news and articles by [NECTEC](https://www.nectec.or.th/) (148,995/2,252 lines of train/test). It was created for [BEST 2010: Word Tokenization Competition](https://thailang.nectec.or.th/archive/indexa290.html?q=node/10). The test set answers are not provided publicly.
### Supported Tasks and Leaderboards
word tokenization
### Languages
Thai
## Dataset Structure
### Data Instances
```
{'char': ['?', 'ภ', 'ู', 'ม', 'ิ', 'ป', 'ั', 'ญ', 'ญ', 'า', 'ช', 'า', 'ว', 'บ', '้', 'า', 'น', '\n'], 'char_type': [4, 1, 10, 1, 10, 1, 4, 1, 1, 10, 1, 10, 1, 1, 9, 10, 1, 4], 'fname': 'encyclopedia_00031.txt', 'is_beginning': [1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 1]}
{'char': ['ภ', 'ู', 'ม', 'ิ', 'ป', 'ั', 'ญ', 'ญ', 'า', 'ช', 'า', 'ว', 'บ', '้', 'า', 'น', ' ', 'ห', 'ม', 'า', 'ย', 'ถ', 'ึ', 'ง', ' ', 'ค', 'ว', 'า', 'ม', 'ร', 'ู', '้', 'ข', 'อ', 'ง', 'ช', 'า', 'ว', 'บ', '้', 'า', 'น', ' ', 'ซ', 'ึ', '่', 'ง', 'เ', 'ร', 'ี', 'ย', 'น', 'ร', 'ู', '้', 'ม', 'า', 'จ', 'า', 'ก', 'พ', '่', 'อ', 'แ', 'ม', '่', ' ', 'ป', 'ู', '่', 'ย', '่', 'า', 'ต', 'า', 'ย', 'า', 'ย', ' ', 'ญ', 'า', 'ต', 'ิ', 'พ', 'ี', '่', 'น', '้', 'อ', 'ง', ' ', 'ห', 'ร', 'ื', 'อ', 'ผ', 'ู', '้', 'ม', 'ี', 'ค', 'ว', 'า', 'ม', 'ร', 'ู', '้', 'ใ', 'น', 'ห', 'ม', 'ู', '่', 'บ', '้', 'า', 'น', 'ใ', 'น', 'ท', '้', 'อ', 'ง', 'ถ', 'ิ', '่', 'น', 'ต', '่', 'า', 'ง', 'ๆ', '\n'], 'char_type': [1, 10, 1, 10, 1, 4, 1, 1, 10, 1, 10, 1, 1, 9, 10, 1, 5, 3, 1, 10, 1, 1, 10, 1, 5, 1, 1, 10, 1, 1, 10, 9, 1, 1, 1, 1, 10, 1, 1, 9, 10, 1, 5, 1, 10, 9, 1, 11, 1, 10, 1, 1, 1, 10, 9, 1, 10, 1, 10, 1, 1, 9, 1, 11, 1, 9, 5, 1, 10, 9, 1, 9, 10, 1, 10, 1, 10, 1, 5, 1, 10, 1, 10, 1, 10, 9, 1, 9, 1, 1, 5, 3, 1, 10, 1, 3, 10, 9, 1, 10, 1, 1, 10, 1, 1, 10, 9, 11, 1, 3, 1, 10, 9, 1, 9, 10, 1, 11, 1, 1, 9, 1, 1, 1, 10, 9, 1, 1, 9, 10, 1, 7, 4], 'fname': 'encyclopedia_00031.txt', 'is_beginning': [1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0, 1, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 1, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 1, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1]}
```
### Data Fields
- `fname`: file name; also marks if article is articles, news, encyclopedia or novels
- `char`: characters
- `char_type`: character types as adopted from []() by [deepcut](https://github.com/rkcosmos/deepcut)
- `is_beginning`: is beginning of word
### Data Splits
| | train | test |
|-------------------------|------------|---------|
| # lines | 148,995 | 2,252 |
| avg words per line | 39.05 | NA |
| total words | 5,818,521 | NA |
| avg characters per line | 140.39 | 202.79 |
| total characters | 20,918,132 | 456,684 |
| # lines articles | 16,990 | NA |
| # lines encyclopedia | 50,631 | NA |
| # lines novels | 50,140 | NA |
| # lines news | 31,234 | NA |
## Dataset Creation
### Curation Rationale
The dataset was created for [BEST 2010: Word Tokenization Competition](https://thailang.nectec.or.th/archive/indexa290.html?q=node/10) by [NECTEC](https://www.nectec.or.th/).
### Source Data
#### Initial Data Collection and Normalization
[More Information Needed]
#### Who are the source language producers?
Respective authors of the articles, news, encyclopedia and novels
### Annotations
#### Annotation process
Detailed annotation guidelines can be found in `BEST_Guideline_Release1.pdf` as part of the uncompressed files. Word tokenization standard used was [InterBEST2009](http://hltshare.fbk.eu/IWSLT2015/InterBEST2009Guidelines-2.pdf)
#### Who are the annotators?
[More Information Needed]
### Personal and Sensitive Information
All data are curated from public sources. No personal and sensitive information is expected to be included.
## Considerations for Using the Data
### Social Impact of Dataset
- word tokenization dataset from articles, news, encyclopedia and novels
### Discussion of Biases
- texts are relatively formal ones from articles, news, encyclopedia and novels.
- word tokenization standard used was [InterBEST2009](http://hltshare.fbk.eu/IWSLT2015/InterBEST2009Guidelines-2.pdf).
### Other Known Limitations
- some tags unrelated to word tokenization (`<NE>` and `<AB>`) are cleaned out.
- no word boundary provdied for the test set
## Additional Information
### Dataset Curators
[NECTEC](https://www.nectec.or.th/)
### Licensing Information
CC-BY-NC-SA 3.0
### Citation Information
Dataset:
```
@inproceedings{kosawat2009best,
title={BEST 2009: Thai word segmentation software contest},
author={Kosawat, Krit and Boriboon, Monthika and Chootrakool, Patcharika and Chotimongkol, Ananlada and Klaithin, Supon and Kongyoung, Sarawoot and Kriengket, Kanyanut and Phaholphinyo, Sitthaa and Purodakananda, Sumonmas and Thanakulwarapas, Tipraporn and others},
booktitle={2009 Eighth International Symposium on Natural Language Processing},
pages={83--88},
year={2009},
organization={IEEE}
}
@inproceedings{boriboon2009best,
title={Best corpus development and analysis},
author={Boriboon, Monthika and Kriengket, Kanyanut and Chootrakool, Patcharika and Phaholphinyo, Sitthaa and Purodakananda, Sumonmas and Thanakulwarapas, Tipraporn and Kosawat, Krit},
booktitle={2009 International Conference on Asian Language Processing},
pages={322--327},
year={2009},
organization={IEEE}
}
```
Character type features:
```
@inproceedings{haruechaiyasak2009tlex,
title={TLex: Thai lexeme analyser based on the conditional random fields},
author={Haruechaiyasak, Choochart and Kongyoung, Sarawoot},
booktitle={Proceedings of 8th International Symposium on Natural Language Processing},
year={2009}
}
```
### Contributions
Thanks to [@cstorm125](https://github.com/cstorm125) for adding this dataset.